Newbie Helix Question

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by gatecitycanes, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. gatecitycanes

    gatecitycanes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I tried to search for instructions but couldn't find any. This might not even be the right forum.

    After a grand total of four days, I found that I need more than three screens. I downloaded Helix Launcher, but I have no idea what to do now to install it.

    A little Helix 101 would be appreciated.
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you push the Home soft button it should give you the option of what launcher you want to use. You just set Helix as your default.
     
  3. gatecitycanes

    gatecitycanes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops. I saw that and hit the other option and made clicked the field that said make these the default option. How do I go back and change that?
     
  4. NeverEndingXsin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    download "Home Switcher" from the market
     
  5. GoGators

    GoGators Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you get it, set it for seven screens. Even if you do not use the two out at each end, they are reserved for future use. It saves setting up the whole thing again. I use six with one reserved. The shortcuts are the best feature of either Helix offering!
     
  6. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or go to Settings>applications>manage applications>Filter>All>Home>Clear Defauts
     
  7. gatecitycanes

    gatecitycanes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    How exactly do I go about setting things up? Also, when I click on wallpapers I only get one choice? Is that right? Does it make a difference that I'm still on 2.0.1?

    Thanks! That took care of it!
     
  8. GoGators

    GoGators Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  9. hart.jordan

    hart.jordan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  10. GoGators

    GoGators Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, saw he was still on 2.0.1. How is the possible? Have that many people still not received the OTA? Yes, research and do it if you wanna. Not because you heard it from me. But I love it!!!!
     
  11. Threepio

    Threepio Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didnt recieve the OTA, i force updated last night.

    Helix Launcher is great. and BTW, you can change the number of windows without having to remove all your icons, i went from 4 windows to 7 windows and everything was fine.
     
  12. GoGators

    GoGators Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Be careful, do not go the other way without deleting the shortcuts like the instructions tell you (not that you would ever want to have less than seven screens).