1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Newbie Guide to Rooting

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mbarr69, Aug 3, 2010.

1. mbarr69

mbarr69 New Member

I am a newbie to the rooting world, and as many newbies find myself in a cloud of vagueness. What I would like to accomplish with this thread is a definitive guide to what root means, why should I root, backing up, actually rooting and finally, installing new ROMs(Read Only Memory) on the Moto Droid 1. I am currently running 2.1-update 1 firmware. Any links or information provided should be already tested and proven methods. Please no "try this and let me know if this works" stuff. I would like links to good videos when possible with written step-by-step instruction for that procedure or process. If not provided I will try to write out steps for video links. Please also provide definitions for any acronyms or other terminology not understood by newbies. Again I would like this to be the "DEFINITIVE ONE-STOP-SHOP TO ROOTING DROID 1 2.1". I'll start by structuring some sections and lets build off those. If you see something that is not right let me know and I will fix it. If you see something left out or a new or better way to do something lets get a poll on that suggestion and get a feel of what people think works the best in that situation. If I'm asking too much or if you think that this is all just a waste of time please move on and do not leave any comments. Otherwise I like many others would like this cloud lifted so we can see the light. AMEN!
  2. mbarr69

mbarr69 New Member

Section 1- WHAT DOES ROOTING MEAN