Newbie Guide to Rooting the Fascinate

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by mrdroid, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. Animationist
    Offline

    Animationist New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I couldn't agree more! Titanium is worth every penny. The app was only $5.70 when I bought it. I would have gladly paid $10.
  2. denver
    Offline

    denver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having some trouble when I do the push adb command no files seem to be moved

    C:\rootfiles>adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthe
    cage-arm5.bin
    84 KB/s (0 bytes in 5392.000s)

    It shows 0 bytes transferred. Any ideas, I can run the adb command properly.
  3. Top_Ramen
    Offline

    Top_Ramen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All is well until I try to run "./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin" in Section 3, I get the several lines of code that I should see after that but when I try to adb shell after that I keep getting 'error: device not found'. Same thing with adb devices. Thing is, I can actually hear my phone disconnecting itself after that. I never get kicked out of adb like it said I would.

    I've tried rebooting the phone prior to "./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin" because I think you recommended it in another post on the first page. Same results. My phone is not connected/recognized anymore after this cmd.

    Also, I get "#" instead of "$" when I 'adb shell'... same difference? or is that bad?

    Anyhow, I'll keep trying.
  4. Goldpolk
    Offline

    Goldpolk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    oops

    Mr Droid,

    I had my phone rooted, it was OK. for some reason (like an idiot) I accepted an upgrade request. I went back to try and re-root the phone. All was ok until I get to the "apk install Superuser.apk". It tells me it failed because it is allready installed.

    I tried using "adb shell" and "rm" to the /data/local/tmp/Superuser.apk file and it still gives me the same error.

    Any ideas?

    RC
  5. wgray
    Offline

    wgray New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thank you!!!

    Absolutly Awesome!! A perfect and well laid out tutorial. I thank YOU and also Dirrk at xda for this.. I am SO excited to be able to now root my phone properly. I think I almost understand now.. LOL I am new at this but definitely encouraged now to see this tutorial work so well. I didn't have one bit of trouble.
  6. jpeanes
    Offline

    jpeanes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after the raceagainstthecage push and adb shell i get a # prompt, not the $
  7. tkaaf
    Offline

    tkaaf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    C:\rootfiles>adb push su /sdcard/su
    failed to copy 'su' to '/sdcard/su': Permission denied

    C:\rootfiles>adb push busybox /sdcard/busybox
    failed to copy 'busybox' to '/sdcard/busybox': Permission denied

    C:\rootfiles>adb shell
    mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
    cd /system/xbin
    cat /sdcard/su > ./su
    cat /sdcard/busybox > ./busybox
    chmod 4755 su
    chmod 4755 busybox
    # mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
    cd /system/xbin
    cat /sdcard/su > ./su
    cat /sdcard/busybox > ./busybox
    chmod 4755 su
    chmod 4755 busybox
    # # /sdcard/su: No such file or directory
    # /sdcard/busybox: No such file or directory
    # # # #

    this is what i get when i try to root my phone. what is the issue??
  8. seechrisgo
    Offline

    seechrisgo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I followed all the instructions to the letter and got all the correct responses from the PC and the phone as I entered each command. However, after rebooting the phone I don't seem to have root permission. For instance, when I use adb shell, I get the $ prompt which means I am not root. I can't switch to any directories that are protected. What do i do to enable root?
  9. jakechance
    Offline

    jakechance New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Catchup and refresher

    Hi MrDroid,

    You seem to be the local expert on the Fascinate so I was wondering if you could help me with a few questions. I just got my Fascinate this evening and have been reading up on things for the past hour but am still a little confused.

    Is the method at the beginning of this thread still the most current way to root the Fascinate? Do you have any comments on method to root via One Click Lag Fix?

    Speaking of the lag fix, is this still a problem and should I go about looking into correcting it?

    My phone has tried to download some update through InnoPath. It doesn't exactly say what it is but in on my info page it says it's already on 2.1-update1. The update constantly fails to download but I was wondering if I should wait until it comes through before rooting. Any idea what it is or what I should do about it?

    Finally the one thing missing from your guide is a followup for rooted Fascinates. Are there any guides you know of for removing the bloat? Any custom rom/custom recovery guides?

    I'm going to keep searching and I probably won't get around to rooting tonight, but I'm just so overwhelmed with all the new info to process for a new phone. If only they'd come bloat free and rooted to avoid all this confusion.
  10. jakechance
    Offline

    jakechance New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Answered some of my own questions

    All information I've found so far says to avoid the lag fixes and simply wait for some custom ROMs to come out.

    Speaking of ROMs, CM isn't available yet there are instructions on their site for how to install it on your Fascinate. I asked in the forums about the conflicting information and still haven't gotten an answer. What about the custom roms in Rom Manager? Has anyone tried them out or have any info on them?

    As for rooting, nothing is easier than One Click Root. Just make sure you install the Fascinate's drivers. It doesn't say anywhere in the post to do this step (and maybe it's not required for other phones that OCR works on) but you need them installed before this will work.

    Removing bloatware is easy with Titanium Backup. You don't want to actually remove the apps as they're necessary for OTA updates, but you can simply freeze them using Titanium and they won't show up anymore.

    There is a way to install Clockwork Recovery but I haven't done it yet and it's not as easy as it was on the droid. The XDA post on it is here: Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers

    One other thing that people coming from the original Droid won't be aware of is the way the Galaxy S does Facebook integration. On the Droid you had to install the Facebook app and it would ask you what to do with your contacts (basically pulling a profile pic from FB for all your contacts in your phone). On the Fascinate, FB integration is built in and works slightly differently and it can be confusing. You can directly add your facebook account to your phone in the accounts section of the settings. From here you can go to your contacts, hit menu and then get friends and import facebook contacts to your phone. In order to basically just link up facebook accounts with your google contacts like on the Droid, you just need to import all your facebook contacts and then hit menu, display options, and uncheck facebook. This will now only show your google contacts and their linked facebook contacts if available.

    I've only had my Fascinate for < 24 hrs so I'm still learning, but I think this is some pretty good information for others who just started and want to get their phones to a usable state :p
  11. tintuk
    Offline

    tintuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    USB device not recognized

    thanks for the great step by step.

    unfortunately, i can only get as far as installing device drivers. after it appears to install correctly, i hook my fascinate up and get this same error over and over again :usb device not recognized

    AAAAAAARGGGGGGHHHHHH! :icon_eek:

    i have tried everything i can think of and cant get the phone and computer to communicate. they were communicating fine prior to this. i have uninstalled, reinstalled drivers. i have deleted and reinstalled adb. dont know what else i should do.

    running this on an old vista latpop with x86 vista and amd 64 turon proc.

    any ideas?
  12. spyder309
    Offline

    spyder309 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True

    THIS IS THE BEST ANDROID FORUM OUT THERE IGNORE THE REST LOL. I too am a noob. Droid 1 w/ Ultimate droid. Will probably never own a non android!!!
  13. spyder309
    Offline

    spyder309 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok dumb question have you check to see if your running x64 or x32 bit windows?
  14. cgainer
    Offline

    cgainer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the wonderful instructions. This was my first attempt at rooting my droid and it worked flawlessly. The wifi tether program -pre11 worked well with my galaxy s!

    Kudos to you sir!
  15. chris86
    Offline

    chris86 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a problem with this part. i downloaded the windows x86 and did everything pluged in my phone and my phone didnt say anything. what do i have to do ?
  16. chris86
    Offline

    chris86 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nevermind figured it out stupid me. anyways that was nice and easy i loved the step by step thanks. im new to the hole rooted thing. what all can i do ?
  17. tintuk
    Offline

    tintuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not a dumb question. 32 bit.
  18. coloradodrummer
    Offline

    coloradodrummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok, I went through all the steps, and Superuser is working. When I go into titanium backup, it tells me I don't have root permission, same with quick quick app clear cache. What am I doing wrong?

    I have factory reset my phone, formated my sd card.... Still getting the same message when I try to use titanium.... This is SOOOOO Frustrating, someone please help....

    Do I need to mount my phone when I plug it in? Do I need to startup the terminal emulator?
  19. jakechance
    Offline

    jakechance New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes Titanium Backup has a problem with the version of BusyBox you have installed and gives you a warning that you're not root even though you are.

    To fix this, tap "Problems" in the lower right in Titanium Backup and allow it to install it's version of busy box. After that, it should work fine.
  20. fluidj
    Offline

    fluidj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are these the instructions for One Click Root? If not, could someone please point me in that direction? Thanks.
Search tags for this page
how to root a verizon samsung fascinate
,
how to root fascinate
,
how to root my samsung fascinate
,

how to root samsung fascinate

,
root fascinate
,
root fascinate from phone
,

root samsung fascinate

,
rooting fascinate
,

rooting samsung fascinate

,
samsung fascinate drivers adb
,

samsung fascinate root

,
samsung fascinate root guide
,
samsung fascinate root instructions
,
samsung fascinate root package
,
verizon fascinate root