Newbie Guide to Rooting the Fascinate

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by mrdroid, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone else may have a better solution than this... but the only way I figured out how to get rid of Superuser was to do a factory reset. Chances are when you installed Superuser.apk you didn't have a successful temp root setup.
     
  2. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looking good, thanks.

    I don't have one of these phones so I'm not familiar with what all is out for it. I don't know if the recovery tool exists/can be replaced nor how to get into it on the phone. I see some folks are already deleting stuff then wishing they hadn't. If there are steps for a full backup of the phone that should be the first thing people do once they are rooted. If you can do a system dump of the phone then push that all back on with the sdk and adb that might be a solution if something else isn't available. I'm just tossing ideas out as I don't know but do believe a backup should be high on folks to-do list if they are going to root.
     
  3. sprke81

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes the file gets pushed fine but once I try the next step the cursor goes down to the next line by itself. I'm not able to enter any text or anything until I exit cmd and reopen it. As soon as I re opened cmd I typed adb devices and the phone still had good connection.
     
  4. tonamaste

    tonamaste New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    # # # # # # #?

    1st off THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!!!
    at the end of section 4 I copied and pasted all of the lines at once... and am now looking at # # # # # # # for like 10min now...
    Was I supposed to copy each line seperate? or perhaps force a reboot?
    :blackdroid:

    *** unplugged and reset cmd back to c:rootfiles> continuing on your awesomely layed out rooting instructions now...

    CONVERSING with my self I know but readers.... It worked wonderfully Super user in effect and titanium backup is a demo but can erase the verizon apps as well as activate busy box
    thanks again!
     
  5. jspidah

    jspidah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone else may have a better solution than this... but the only way I figured out how to get rid of Superuser was to do a factory reset. Chances are when you installed Superuser.apk you didn't have a successful temp root setup.[/QUOTE]

    yeah, i just factory resetted and it went back to normal, then retried the process and it worked fine. thanks!

    i had outdated Superuser and Busybox that I got from someone else's Root guide.
     
  6. sprke81

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it! Big thanks to all the instructions on here.. I had to restart my computer then everything went great. I've been hard at work with root explorer :)
     
  7. mkzbdroid

    mkzbdroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    acheived root

    sweet guide...just a little confusion on my part. when I go into the superuser app I can see Terminal Emulator has permissions but how do I get other apps like Astro File Manager to have permissions? I thought they would just ask on install..so i deleted astro and reinstalled but didnt prompt me for it.
     
  8. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of apps don't require root access. Unless the functionality has been added, Astro doesn't work within protected system files so it doesn't ask for root permissions.
     
  9. zwanzon

    zwanzon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I followed all the steps exactly and got stuck on section #3.

    After copying and pasting: ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin after the $ and pressing enter,

    I got this:
    chmod 0755 rage rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    Unable to chmod rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin: No such file or directory


    and then it went back to: $

    Any ideas?
     
  10. ernaldsame

    ernaldsame New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Money Sign

    ok i got it all setup on my phone but what do i do now? haha i dont know what superuser is for
     
  11. zwanzon

    zwanzon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ernaldsame for the help. MrDroid, you might want to go back to the tutorial and type [PRESS ENTER] where needed. I know Ernaldsame and I got hung up because of this.

    (x2 on what to do now with the SuperUser crossbones app)
     
  12. mkzbdroid

    mkzbdroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome Thanks!

    guess astro doesnt use SU anymore but found root explorer should be a good fix thanks for the clarification.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root fascinate
,
how to root my samsung fascinate
,

how to root samsung fascinate

,
root fascinate
,

root samsung fascinate

,
rooting fascinate
,

rooting samsung fascinate

,
samsung fascinate root
,
samsung fascinate root guide
,
samsung fascinate root package