Newbie Guide to Rooting the Fascinate

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by mrdroid, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. ernaldsame

    ernaldsame New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Money Sign

    ok i got it all setup on my phone but what do i do now? haha i dont know what superuser is for
     
  2. zwanzon

    zwanzon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ernaldsame for the help. MrDroid, you might want to go back to the tutorial and type [PRESS ENTER] where needed. I know Ernaldsame and I got hung up because of this.

    (x2 on what to do now with the SuperUser crossbones app)
     
  3. mkzbdroid

    mkzbdroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome Thanks!

    guess astro doesnt use SU anymore but found root explorer should be a good fix thanks for the clarification.
     
  4. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    looks like you copied two lines and pasted them both.
    chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.binand
    ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.binare two different commands. You have them pasted as a single command.
     
  5. carrick1107

    carrick1107 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Replace bing for google?

    Hi guys I lost the website that showed me how to remove Bing completely and leave Google as the only search engine even when you hit the magnifying glass.....any clues on how to do this or does anyone have the link?
     
  6. zwanzon

    zwanzon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. carrick1107

    carrick1107 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help! Won't root!

    I rooted my wife's phone in under 5 minutes but now I am trying to do mine and everything goes through and says it is rooted and success after installing super user and my phone has the icon but i can't install any rooted based software like setcpu or root explorer
     
  8. PsychoSimatic

    PsychoSimatic Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome

    Followed the steps exactly, and it worked perfectly. Not even a drop of worry, went super smooth. You did an amazing job with this walkthrough, thank you so much for doing this for all these fascinate users!
     
  9. Survivor73

    Survivor73 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice and Easy

    Everything went off without a hitch, infact didnt have any freezes or issues from either the droid or the win 7 pc...
     
  10. tonamaste

    tonamaste New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    QUESTION.... So I have successfully rooted several fascinates now with this guide NO PROBLEM (thank you again) however now when I try using PDAnet tether I get prompted to terminate adb.exe... is that just go to task manager and kill the process?
    with or without the device plugged in?
     
  11. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never used PDAnet but do you need to turn USB Debugging off before using it?
     
  12. tonamaste

    tonamaste New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes definately need debugging for PDAnet tethering...
    ****I just went to task manager and killed the adb.exe that was still running in the cmnd promp from when I rooted earlier that day... All is good. running smooth. (Except I'm using the free pda net version which doesn't allow viewing of secure pages...But that's a whole different story!)
     
  13. FrostMan

    FrostMan Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install and tether for free using:
    wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre9.apk - android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users 2.0.5-pre9 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Project Hosting on Google Code

    No need to bother with that pdanet app.
     
  14. kary01

    kary01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help!!

    On step 4 setting up your fascinate.. when i get to the code to type after the $

    i'm receiving this error....

    "cant cd to chmod"

    i enter the whole command. please help!
     
  15. filthy1

    filthy1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    0 bytes???

    FIXED IT!!! 1st off great guide.....this is the second phone I am trying to root using it and have all the files saved on my computer just as you do for ease of use but on the the cmd line below I am getting 0 bytes transfered but before on my phone it gave me exactly what you said it should have had....so I am at a loss I have even tried getting the file from other guides and I am getting the same thing with all of them......any ideas?? FIXED IT !!!
    adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
     
Search tags for this page
how to root fascinate
,
how to root my samsung fascinate
,

how to root samsung fascinate

,
root fascinate
,

root samsung fascinate

,
rooting fascinate
,

rooting samsung fascinate

,
samsung fascinate root
,
samsung fascinate root guide
,
samsung fascinate root package