Newbie Guide to Rooting the Fascinate

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by mrdroid, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fell asleep before I saw your PM. If you're trying to install Superuser.apk and it's tell you it's already installed you might need to do a factory reset. I tested as many scenarios as I could and when I was stuck with Superuser.apk installed and no root I wasn't able to find a way to remove it. However, the factory reset worked in removing Superuser.apk. I did several factory resets and then followed my own guide. After the factory reset enter your google account information and follow the guide as the first thing you do.

    Factory Reset
    From the home screen hit the menu button
    Go to Settings
    Go to Privacy
    hit Factory data reset

    You will lose all your apps and settings and start fresh.
     
  2. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Two suggestions.

    I'd also suggest numbering your steps, so folks can easily say "I got stuck on step 6"

    Actually the second suggestion is part question. I've never used adb but would the following work?


    1. Use a text editor to create a document named install.bat and put the following in it

      adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
      adb shell
      cd /data/local/tmp
      chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
      ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

      adb push su /sdcard/su
      adb push busybox /sdcard/busybox
      adb shell
      mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
      cd /system/xbin
      cat /sdcard/su > ./su
      cat /sdcard/busybox > ./busybox
      chmod 4755 su
      chmod 4755 busybox
      exit

      adb install Superuser.apk
    2. include the install.bat in the root.zip file and just double click on the batch file (install.bat)to run all the commands. This way the chance of typos is removed.






      3rd question....can you unroot this phone? How do you undo that which is about to be done?
     
  3. JoeK

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally rooted. I rooted 2 devices now. It only took 5 min.- after the previous 12 hours of not knowing that I done it- the first time I tried to root. What I did not notice is that it puts a superuser app on the phone. Then I need to download titanium backup to delete some of the verizon bloatware. Now I can remove unwanted apps. Thanks Mr. Droid for all of you help.
     
  4. JoeK

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Major issue now

    My wife was trying to install launcher pro and deleted or uninstall touch wiz. now the phone will not do anything. it boots up, but only has a black screen. I have found the touchwizlauncher.apk and odex file. Where do I place the odex file to adb install?


     
  5. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I added 5 main sections to the actual rooting portion of the guide. That should help narrow it down when someone has a question on which section.

    You could use a batch file... but doing so for users that are new to this would require a lot of error handling and output and it is just easier to deal with issues if the user can just see each command and see if 1 single command throws an error.

    The only way I know to uninstall is to do a Factory Reset. I'm sure someone will come out with a one click root/unroot soon.
     
  6. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you remove touchwiz? You removed the .apk? You should be able to just replace it and reboot.


    First see if the apk and odex are still there. Connect your phone, start an adb shell and search for the Touch wiz apk and odex.

    When you type 'su' in the commands below make sure your Fascinate's screen is on and you're at the home screen because you will need to click Allow to grant permissions.
    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    busybox find /system/ -name Touch*
    
    should return the following:
    Code:
    busybox find /system/ -name Touch*
    /system/app/TouchWizCalendar.odex
    /system/app/TouchWizCalendarProvider.apk
    /system/app/TouchWizCalendarProvider.odex
    /system/app/TouchWizCalculator.apk
    /system/app/TouchWiz30Launcher.odex
    /system/app/TouchWizCalendar.apk
    /system/app/TouchWiz30Launcher.apk
    /system/app/TouchWizCalculator.odex
    #
    
    If TouchWiz30Launcher.apk and/or TouchWiz30Launcher.odex are missing then just push them back to the system.
    On your PC put the files in C:\rootfiles and open a cmd window and type the following.

    Code:
    c:\
    cd c:\rootfiles
    adb push TouchWiz30Launcher.apk /system/app/
    adb push TouchWiz30Launcher.odex /system/app/
    reboot
    
    And you once your phone reboot unlock it and hit home and you should get a choice of which launcher to use.
     
  7. JoeK

    JoeK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a million

    Mr. Doid rules the air. Thank you for your help. I was afraid that my wife bricked a new phone. She wanted launcher pro and deleted touch wiz before she loaded launcher pro. I am not sure how she did it, but now everything is better. Thank you again for sharing your knowledge.
     
  8. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem. Glad I could help. :)
     
  9. sprke81

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok just to be clear..to unroot my phone all I have to do is a factory reset? I'm getting ready to tackle this but I'm very likely going to return it after a few days unless root can solve some of my issues with it.
     
  10. jspidah

    jspidah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. i followed Dirrk's guide all the way through.

    Saw Success in the cmd and it CTRL + C to end the thing.

    Rebooted, saw Superuser Permissions in my App Drawer.

    Had Titanium Backup and ROM Manager already installed, tried to run TiBu and it said I wasn't rooted. Tried ROM Manager, said the same thing.

    Downloaded Busybox, said I wasn't rooted. Uninstalled TiBu and then reinstalled it, said I wasn't rooted. Had TiBu redownload Busybox, said I wasn't rooted.

    Looked on my SD card, there's a busybox and an su in there now.

    What gives, here? Did i screw something up? How can I undo this and start over if I did?
     
  11. sprke81

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know I'm a big time noob but after I type in 'adb shell' the first time in the tutorial the cursor just moves down and blinks not allowing to enter in commands or anything. This is right after pushing the rageagainstthecage file in section 2. What am I doing wrong?
     
  12. mrdroid

    mrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea a factory reset will get rid of the installed Superuser.apk and the su, busybox. What issues are you having?

    So you're able to successfully push the file to the phone?
    Once you do that try a
    Code:
    adb devices
    
    and make sure you still have a good connection to the phone.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root fascinate
,
how to root my samsung fascinate
,

how to root samsung fascinate

,
root fascinate
,
rooting fascinate
,

rooting samsung fascinate

,

root samsung fascinate

,
samsung fascinate root
,
samsung fascinate root guide
,
samsung fascinate root package