new wifi tether - razr working?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by fdisker, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. fdisker
    Offline

    fdisker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wifi Tether was just updated and the notes state that it's now working on the Razr with ICS. I literally just stumbled upon this and have no way to confirm cuz I'm at work and too busy. Can anyone confirm the latest version (3.2 pre3) is working?
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Well first attempt is not looking good, configured it with the same settings I had when it worked on GB. However my Nexus 7 didn't see the signal.

    I still have the entitlement option changed for the hotspot hack, so I am going to change that back and see if it makes a difference.
  3. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Well looks like the entitlement check was messing it up, so changed it back to the default setting of 1.

    Now my Nexus 7 is connected and just ran a speed test and got 15mbps down and 2.7mbps up.
  4. great999
    Offline

    great999 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have no been able to get wifi tether to work im rooted and have download a few apps i get errors saying ad-hoc failed how to fix that ?? any ideas
  5. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    If you are having issues I would post on that sight for the developer to see it directly, I think it would be much more effective. We can guess on here but that would be really all it is, best guess.

    Mine was working fine earlier but I have not tried it again. They added a bunch of settings to this version from the previous versions.
  6. great999
    Offline

    great999 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im a bit different here i think i have no apps that work something with ad-hoc not working... all apps get errors weird the same apps worked on nexus and droid x maybe a setting in the phone it self kinda like a hack needs to be done im new to this phone so im sorry for looking dumb lol
  7. fdisker
    Offline

    fdisker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just testing a bit here. It's working but some features aren't. For example, I can tether my tablet and laptop when wifi tether is configured to not use security. WPA/WPA2 is not working but Access Control is. Weird. I'm headed to the support site to file a bug report.
  8. 2trax4me
    Offline

    2trax4me New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use foxfi and am unrooted
    1 person likes this.
  9. nissanskyline
    Offline

    nissanskyline New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Wi-Fi is sketchy on my Razor I either restart my phone like every 10 minutes or say screw it and good 4/3G to update small apps and YouTube and go on the internet

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums