1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New user question.....

Discussion in 'Droid Concepts' started by masprague, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    I am a long time rom user, but SD6.0 is my first flash from Driod concepts.

    I really enjoy the rom. I mainly used CM before, but I kept finding small issues with it (slowdown, heat, reboots). So I tried many of the other popular roms and found many of the same or even different issues.

    So far I have had next to zero problems with SD6. The battery life has been great even though I am a heavy streaming user (Rhapsody and Stitcher). All in All I really love this rom.

    Anyway, with my rambling history out of the way, one thing I loved about the CM mod was the Cytown Phone Mods. This is the one that vibrates when call answered, or hung up. It also allows you to silence ringer by flipping the phone over.

    So, my question is, how can I get this phone mod on SD6? This would complete the perfect rom for me.

    any help?

    Thanks guys....amazing job
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Flipsilent - a free app in the market? I haven't tried it, let us know how it works for you
  3. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahh, but I also need the vibrate on answer and hang up. its just something I have grown accustomed to.
  4. woodyman
    Offline

    woodyman Beta Team Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the link Woodyman.

    I went there Downloaded the .apk and I went to follow the instructions for using Terminal to swap .apks.

    Terminal told me that the system was not writable.

    So i went to the first page of the SD6.0 thread and tried to run the script 'sysrw' then terminal said "permission denied"

    any help
  6. woodyman
    Offline

    woodyman Beta Team Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You probably did this but in terminal u have to type su before u try to run the sysrw command..

    If it's still not working then I'm not sure why because I know it worked when I uploaded the rom.. So do this instead if u can't get sysrw to work

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    hit enter after u type all that and as long as u don't get any errors then the system will be mounted as rw
  7. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I typed 'su' before all that.

    I tried what you suggested and it says rw not found

    ---

    I got the rom from Koush's RM. I wiped data 3 times before installing, just so you know how I installed the rom.
  8. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok...nevermind...tried it again and it just worked....

    I must have typed something wrong. But I got the phone apk replaced and vibrate on answer is back!!

    Thanks for all the help woodyman. SD6.0 is now perfect.
  9. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Beta Team Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......


    when i first installed SD 6 the /system/xbin/ did not have the correct permissions.


    follow the instructions below to change them and all the scripts will work.

    Code:
    su 
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/ 
    

    you should now be able to use all the scripts... no reboot needed after this.