New Update question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by faf1998, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. faf1998
    Offline

    faf1998 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on a rooted Dx and when i go to "system updates" I get the following:

    Motorola Account Required

    "System Update" is not available without a Motorola Service Account. Would you like to setup an account now?

    Setup Cancel

    So I hit setup, and then I get:

    If you use any of the services below, tap the icon to set it up.
    (followed by backup assistant, email, bookface, google blah blah blah"

    I then have the option to hit 'Done Adding accounts' at the bottom of the screen. I hit "Done" and it take me right back to the "about phone" screen.

    no update.

    WTF? Does this happen to anyone else? I did rename a few bloatware programs, nothing serious (City ID, Blockbuster etc.).

    Any help would be appreciated...
  2. amavit
    Offline

    amavit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have never had that happen before. I do know that to get the update you will have to have all the original bloatware apps that came with the phone which I'm assuming includes the ones you deleted.
  3. technique
    Offline

    technique New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the EXACT same issue. "Motorola account required". I am rooted but I even flashed the full 2.2 SBF and still am getting the same issue.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    This is correct.
  5. technique
    Offline

    technique New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fixed the problem by doing a factory wipe of all data. Flashing the 400+ meg sbf did not fix it, nor did having all the original bloatware.
  6. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Debating on whether to flash back to my stock backup and getting the update, or using the SBF to do it.

    Opinions?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. faf1998
    Offline

    faf1998 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So do we have a conclusion that you have to be unrooted and with full bloatware in order to get the update via your "about phone"?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  8. badguy13
    Offline

    badguy13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I started having this problem in feb. I have not done anything to my phone or apps and still have the exact same issue. Has there been any further developments you guys have heard of lately? thanks