New to this forum and really like my Bionic!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by 340DartMan, Jan 18, 2012.

1. 340DartMan

340DartMan New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Folks, Just wanted to give you a heads up that another noob is here. I am new to smartphones. The Bionic is my first one. Bought it ~ third week of October. Before that, I was a Tracfone guy. They came out with a "dumb phone" (as I lovingly call it!). This gave me a taste of touch screen capabilities (even though the screen was resistive). In the meantime, my wife has been enjoying her HTC Incredible for almost two years making me jealous. So then one day,... I washed my dumbphone,.......Then I dried my dumbphone (the thumpidty, thumpidy I heard coming from the dryer,... didn't clue me in a bit). And of course, eventually I wanted to use my dumbphone, but couldn't find it. Finally found it in the dryer. (thumpidy, thumpidy!) Pulled the battery, completely gutted it and set it to dry under a fan for a day. Reassembled it and it worked!! (with a new battery) Unbelievable! Everything worked except the mic. Go figure! At least it has bluetooth. That didn't last long. I mean,... I have to be able to use my phone without an earpiece all the time! So I ordered the Motorola Bionic. (Now fast-forward outta the 19th century below) I relate to my Bionic as a small PC. And with that, like my PC,... I want to have full access to the whole OS, (I guess ROM in this case). I have control issues. So two weeks after purchase,... after a lot of reading on several forums,... I rooted, installed TB, froze programs, accidentally deleted a couple bloatwares, and wouldn't take the 5.5.893 update. Last week I used dhacker29's R3L3AS3DRoot and 43V3R Root. This got me back to stock ROM, installed Bionic Bootstrapper and backed up. Then downloaded my 5.5.893 OTA. Fixing to backup 893, then go to 5.9.901 that is floating around. I am fairly computer literate, built two PC's, avionics/electro