NeW to The SiTE=))

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by fabs2004, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. fabs2004
    Offline

    fabs2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hii my name is elizabeth, i have had my droid for about a year now and wanted to join droid forums to learn a lil more about my phone...
    Icurrently need some help i have rooted my phone, porpose on wanting to root it was to get the wireless tethering, which works great.. but also i want to run cyanogen mod.. but there is something wrong i have ROM manager, titanium backup, root explore.. ive tried time and time again following directions through youtube but i have no luck? should i unroot my phone and go through the whole process again?? please HELP...
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    What phone first off? Second, are you doing a data and cache wipe before installing?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  3. fabs2004
    Offline

    fabs2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a droid 2 and i dont know what a data and cache swipe is =(
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ok, when using ROM manager you should be able to find the CM7 download. When you click on the CM7 option a screen should pop up asking you to wipe data and cache. Do you see that and are you clicking on both options? When you wipe data/cache you are completely removing all traces of the current ROM (data) you are using as well as any remnants (cache) of the old ROM. This is required so that parts of the ROM you are replacing don't interfere with the new ROM you are installing.
  5. fabs2004
    Offline

    fabs2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When i go on ROM manager, i found the cyaanogenMOD but when i click on it, theres nothing there its just a black screen ?
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Welcome to the site.

    You must have ROM Manager Premium to download CM7 from there. If you don't want to do that, you can do it manually like I do. Download the latest nightly and the Gapps, then use D2 bootstrap to flash.

    Here are the nightlies:

    http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?device=cdma_droid2

    Here is the Gapps:

    http://cmw.22aaf3.com/gapps/gapps-gb-20110613-signed.zip

    Here is Droid 2 bootstrap:

    http://db.tt/6g2cohX

    Download the files onto your SD Card. Install D2 bootstrap, then wipe data, cache and go to advanced and wipe dalvik cache.

    Next go to install zip from SD Card and find the files. Install the ROM first, then install the Gapps. Then reboot!

    Let me know if you need help or anything else. I'll PM you my email address and phone number that you can use in case you get stuck.

    CM74DX
  7. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Thanks for the relief brad ;-)

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums