new to rooting

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by socalsx, Jun 15, 2010.

1. socalsx

socalsx New Member

Hey so i'm pretty new to rooting, just did it about a week ago. I rooted to froyo and added flash. I noticed it was a bit laggy so I installed a 800mhz/wifi rom.

When using setCPU, is it bad to run at "performance" permanently? Ondemand wasn't cutting it..

If I want to try another rom, should i wipe data/cache? what exactly does this function do? erase contacts and apps? I lost quite a few contacts when i first rooted because my gmail didn't automatically sync when i added new contacts. I exported to the sd card this time.

I can't get any youtube video to play. I get "there was a problem while playing". and pandora also freaks out with errors. Should i reinstall froyo?

Sorry for all the questions, these issues just seemed a bit vague when i researched them. thanks!
  2. dlwhtrose

dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Premium Member

God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I do not know much about Froyo but am rooted and have changed ROMs several times so I can answer some of your questions.

First I downloaded "Mybackup pro", some use Titanium. Anyways, these are two very good programs that will allow you to backup your apps and data.