new to rooting, need help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jojo_blu, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im new to this rooting stuff. sorry in advance guys & girls.
    im trying to do this on a mac running 10.7.5 - my droid razr maxx hd on 4.1.2
    im not good at the computer language like you guys are.
    is there any easy instructions or a link to a video for us non rooting pro's? anyone in the nj area that can meet up with me?
    thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    since you are new and not real good with computers, may I ask, what are you trying to accomplish with root?

    There may be solutions to what you're trying to achieve without having to go through root. I've heard of many wanting root and once rooted they want it back to stock, so I just gotta ask before I help you look around.

    edit: In any case, you can find directions here by our own staff: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/an...4-1-2-jb-razr-hd-maxx-hd-razr-m-atrix-hd.html
     
    #2 dezymond, Jun 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2013
  3. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had a lot of Android phones. I've never rooted any of them.
    I think it's about time I do.
    I want to remove the bloat, & be able to customize it some. I like how some of the roms look & act. I customize almost everything else I own, it's about time I do it to my phone.
    I'm a little new to the Apple computers. I like it better than Windows.
    You guys abbreviate a lot. I'm not familiar with some of the lingo.
    Thanks for the response. & ill check out the link tomorrow.
     
  4. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the video link. I've seen it before.
    I need help or a video showing how to do the motochopper using a mac.
    I tried it a few times & no good.
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
  7. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but that screen didn't pop up for me.
    I just found another forum post that Dan (that made the motochopper.zip) said he can't get this to work on mac.
    I guess i have to borrow someone's windows pc.
     
  8. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    View attachment 63629 View attachment 63630
    - ok so i got a hold of a windows 7 ULT. 64 bit laptop

    - downloaded the motochopper.zip file

    - extracted it

    - usb debugging check

    - i run the batch file - hit enter

    - it says: abd not recognized

    what does that mean & how do i fix it??
    - yes phone was in MTP mode

    - yes i used the usb cable that came w/ the phone.

    - yes i did try another usb port

    - it was booted normally.

    - so if all this is correct, do i have to wipe the phone & start all over? I really don't want to do that.

    my head is spinning from ready so many pages on this & another forum site. i have read other people have trouble & found a way to fix it & get rooted, but i haven't seen anyone w/ the same problem as mine.

    - i also cleared the cache before doing this for the 19th time.


    i really don't know what else to do.
     
  9. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    So does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  10. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +555
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    You are on a mac right? So you need to run the .sh file not the "run" file.

    1. Extract the entire contents of the zip file.
    2. If you are using Windows, ensure you have installed the latest Motorola USB drivers available for your phone.
    3. Ensure USB Debugging mode is enabled on your device.
    4. If you are using Windows, navigate to the extracted directory and execute "run.bat". If you are using Linux or OS X, navigate to the extracted directory in a terminal and execute "./run.sh".

    If on windows, install the android SDK so adb is installed.
     
    #10 GoCliffGo05, Jun 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013
  11. jojo_blu

    jojo_blu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    nj
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the mac i did run the sh file.
    I read on another forum site that Dan respond to someone that he can't get it to work on a mac.
    On the windows i ran the proper file.
    I did not do anything w/ the sdk on the windows. How do I do that??
    Maybe that's the missing link I need.
     
    #11 jojo_blu, Jun 16, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2013
Search tags for this page

64 bit linux motochopper

,
help rooting phone nj
,
how to root the razr maxx hd xda
,
motochopper.zip razr m
,
que es run-bat en motochopper.zip ?
,
rooting droid razr 4.1.2 on mac