New to Root - Changing ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by thewoody, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. thewoody
    Offline

    thewoody New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've rooted my phone and have to say I love the flexibility. I used BB for now but like some of the things included in sholes as well as the appearance. If I go to the store and purchase the sholes updater, will it back up my BB data and apps with nandroid and then install sholes? There are several posts related to this but nothing says this in a definitive way.

    Also, if I don't like that one, do I just download another update.zip in the /sdcard/ directory and install using SPRecovery?
  2. korp
    Offline

    korp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check the thread on sholes http://www.droidforums.net/forum/android-roms/20798-sholesrom.html .... there is a free version to download through the browser for apk. Haven't used it yet but I haven't heard any bad things yet.

    Yes... for some roms they have an update.zip like BB does ... others like smoked glass will just have a nandroid backup file that you put in the nandroid folder and restore things EXCEPT for data (to keep your data).
  3. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sholes roms are in .TAR format and the installer DOES automatically make a backup before installing the new rom. However there isnt any reason why you shouldnt be making your own Nandroid backup before installing any rom that you try. Make it a habit to boot to recovery and make an advanced Nandroid backup selecting every option before flashing anything new.

    This way you can always fall back to your exact setup within just a few minutes should anything go wrong and you never miss a beat ;)
  4. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I just rooted last night using Sholes 2.0.2 - it works great. But, I was thinking I wanted to use BB. Would it be easy to do that or am I pretty much stuck with Sholes? I really have no idea about this because I'm just not up on this technology at my advanced age.
  5. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    He is asking about Bugless Beast, not sholes.

    If you want to know about BB, to the op, check out the threads I linked to in my signature. It answers just about all your questions.
  6. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not at all stuck. it is very easy to switch between roms in most case. Petes in particular can upgrade from any rooted ROM that is 2.0.1

    One of the exceptions might be a 2.1 ROM. Usually you cant just flash from a 2.1 ROM back to a 2.0.1 rom without doing some adb wiping first.
  7. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not sure who you are addressing. Maybe I read it wrong??

    Last edited: Feb 6, 2010
  8. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Oh, crap...my bad I misread. :)
  9. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I was asking about BB....if it would be easy to switch over to BB from Sholes.
  10. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yeah I know, I misread.
  11. korp
    Offline

    korp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html

    Start at step 34 and make sure you do a nandroid advanced backup (just in case). Its very simple and no you are not stuck to using sholes.
  12. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Heh, thanks for the free thread advertising :)
  13. nygh
    Offline

    nygh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do I need to delete the old items from my nandroid folder before restoring when going from BB 7.4 to smoked glass? Because its not working for me with the old files in there. How does the restore knower what to restore from?
  14. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston

    Because you choose which file to restore through the names...So you don't need to delete them.
  15. nygh
    Offline

    nygh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im using SPrecovery to load the smoked glass rom and it wont let me choose. Any ideas?
  16. dbu
    Offline

    dbu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Sounds like you didn't unzip the file before you placed it in your nandroid folder.
  17. nygh
    Offline

    nygh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I didn't. ..but now I did and I'm getting 'nandroid exited with status 25' when I try to restore now
  18. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check your folder structure and make sure you dont have an extra BRS... folder. Should be /sdcard/nandroid/BRS/(image files here)
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  19. korp
    Offline

    korp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a free version available .. but if you buy it you are donating to the developers which is always good for the future. The updater makes an auto backup and basically does everything and when it reboots in sprecovery its just option mentions where you get to pick what you want. Pretty simple if I do say so myself ... but I still like BB better.
  20. nygh
    Offline

    nygh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you! That single piece of info about adding a BRS folder made it work!
Similar Threads
  1. SnoDrtRider
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,360
  2. Jaeger
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,824
  3. kookk
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    559
  4. Apollion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,338
  5. scottdog129
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,028
Loading...
Search tags for this page
change my android rom
,
change rooted rom
,
changing rom's in my cellphone
,
does a phone have to be rooted to switch roms?
,
droid 3 rom change
,
droid 4 change rom
,
droid x how to change rom
,
how to change my rom
,
how to change rom
,
how to change rom in droid x
,

how to change roms

,
how to change root roms
,
how to change the rom in newly rooted phone
,

what does changing the rom do to your android

,

x change rom