New to ROMs

Jaeger

Reaction score
Here's where I'm at. I'm running 2.3.15 rooted with 928's Black Glass (Deodexxer) Theme. I use Titanium Backup to freeze bloatware but have not removed any of it.
My first go at installing Black Glass left me with a semi bricked phone. (don't try to install it with frozen bloatware!) I learned how to use RSD Lite and flashed to 2.3.13 and later 2.3.15.

I have ROM Manager Premium installed and am considering a custom ROM. I have no experience with ROMs so I'm not entirely sure what to expect. What would I gain by going to an Apex or Rubix ROM?
I am a big fan of the Black Glass theme as well as Launcher Pro and would like to retain them. Can I do that with these ROMS? Will my Exchange email still be available?

Should I install a ROM with ROM Manager would I need to revert back to the stock Odexed state and remove Black Glass? (I'm certain I would need to defrost all frozen apps and processes)

scott021467

Reaction score
Try Chevy SSX you can still use black glass and is just a really easy rom to work with.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score
Well I'm using rubiX Blurry and I don't see much difference from when I was doing exactly what your doing. Freezing bloatware and such. And 928's Theme is beautiful.

I am thinking of switching to SSX as the above suggests. I also suggest reading lots before jumping:)

And some ROM's suggest no wipe and some do.

c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
Here's where I'm at. I'm running 2.3.15 rooted with 928's Black Glass (Deodexxer) Theme. I use Titanium Backup to freeze bloatware but have not removed any of it.
My first go at installing Black Glass left me with a semi bricked phone. (don't try to install it with frozen bloatware!) I learned how to use RSD Lite and flashed to 2.3.13 and later 2.3.15.