New to ROMs

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by Jaeger, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Jaeger

Jaeger New Member

Here's where I'm at. I'm running 2.3.15 rooted with 928's Black Glass (Deodexxer) Theme. I use Titanium Backup to freeze bloatware but have not removed any of it.
    My first go at installing Black Glass left me with a semi bricked phone. (don't try to install it with frozen bloatware!) I learned how to use RSD Lite and flashed to 2.3.13 and later 2.3.15.

I have ROM Manager Premium installed and am considering a custom ROM. I have no experience with ROMs so I'm not entirely sure what to expect. What would I gain by going to an Apex or Rubix ROM?
    I am a big fan of the Black Glass theme as well as Launcher Pro and would like to retain them. Can I do that with these ROMS? Will my Exchange email still be available?

Should I install a ROM with ROM Manager would I need to revert back to the stock Odexed state and remove Black Glass? (I'm certain I would need to defrost all frozen apps and processes)
  2. scott021467

scott021467 New Member

Try Chevy SSX you can still use black glass and is just a really easy rom to work with.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. chkmate

chkmate New Member

Well I'm using rubiX Blurry and I don't see much difference from when I was doing exactly what your doing. Freezing bloatware and such. And 928's Theme is beautiful.

I am thinking of switching to SSX as the above suggests. I also suggest reading lots before jumping:)

And some ROM's suggest no wipe and some do.

c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  4. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

Many folks use RM others use SPRecovery. What ever option you select make a backup first. A solid backup can save you hours of work and frustration.

Hope this is helpful.

Mike
  5. Jaeger

Jaeger New Member

Thanks for the input.

Chkmate, can I presume then that it's not really worth it to go to the Rubix blurry ROM over what I am doing now?