new to droid

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by joncann, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got my droid 2 a couple weeks ago. I love the phone but hate the bloatware. Trying to root it. But i'm having trouble finding progams and code that will root the droid 2 through linux and z4 root doesn't work. Any advice?
  2. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    z4root should work for the droid 2. Thats how I rooted mine. Did you pick permanent root?
    There has been a problem where the app will freeze half way through. If thats the case, reboot and do it right after it loads up
  3. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    welcome to the site. when you use Z4 let it run for a couple of min and then reboot the phone. After your back up and running open Z4 and try again. Once you have root access you can use titanium backup to freeze the bloat, so you dont loose it. It will be needed for future updates.
  4. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    +1. You explained it better than I did
    And I was just about to post that about not removing bloatware
  5. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Well I tried!
  6. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    haha.
    Let us know how you make out OP.
  7. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Z4 root won't even install. I've been doing alot of research on this. That was the first thing I did. But every time I download z4 root it says it's not compatible with my phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Hmmm, not sure if this makes a difference but do you have an OG D2 or D2G?


    Edit: sorry, saw your phone under you avatar
  9. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure. It's an r2 d2 if that helps. The droid version is 2.2 and the system version is 2.4.5.A957. Does that answer the question?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do you have the "Unknown Sources" box checked? Could be a bad dl'd as well.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  11. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah i've got it checked.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone have a reputable z4 root dl link?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ok. Where did you dl'd it from?



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I can do you one better than that, shoot me a PM with your email and I'll send you the apk directly...no dl'd required :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  15. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Two different souces can't remember the url or sites. Got the links off here though.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  16. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude from another post just gave me a link. Sorry i was hedging my bets. I want to find an sbf for linux before I root. I'm going to assume that an sbf for an r2 d2 droid for linux is going to be non existent.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  17. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hello again, you may be able to make a backup file through Droid Bootstrapper. Am i right DD? I got a clockworkmod file of my stock rom and i can flash through booting into recovery/bootstrap. I backed up the stock rom and i update my backup of liberty once a week just to keep the info updated (every time i update the liberty backup i delete the old one bc they take up so much room)
  18. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Man, I haven't talked to you in forever! Guess its because I learned how to fix most of my own problems! lol

    Did the OP get a good z4root? if not I have one
  19. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah it worked. Well I haven't rooted the phone yet cuz I want a safety net.

    Bootstrap is a superuser app right? So I keep a backup of the original ROM on the sd card. I was kinda hoping to have the backup on my PC. Well I guess beggars can't be choosers. Just don't want to fubar my phon.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  20. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yea bootstrap is superuser but try searching droid 2 sbf under the search tab at the top of the page. Also type it in the google search box. i came up with a couple threads that looked good
Search tags for this page

cruz tablet t301 z4 root