New to Droid 2 from Droid 1

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by ClaudioKilgannon, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. ClaudioKilgannon

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    As the title states, I'm new to Droid 2. I upgraded and am now the proud owner of an R2D2 Droid 2 and I love it. Within the first hour I rooted solely to get rid of the startup sound, but the rooting bug is grabbing a hold of me. When I was on Droid 1 I rooted here and there, and did a custom pull down, so I'm a little familiar with rooting. However the Droid 2 is waaaay different, so I have a few questions:
    1. Is bootstrap the only way to do back ups?
    2. Can I still do custom pull down/blinds the same way? i.e. get a pull down/blind and replace the image then use metamorph or update.zip to install
    3. Is jrummy's Droidoverclock app the only way to overclock?

    That's all I can think of right now, thanks in advance!
     
  2. DroidMakesPwn

    DroidMakesPwn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. Yes
    2. Not sure.
    3. No
     
  3. drinksprite

    drinksprite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aw man, kinda late to get a droid 2, the droid 3 is gonna be out in a couple months.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. ClaudioKilgannon

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    True but I've wanted this phone since before it came out and I'm a huge Star Wars nerd so it was a given. As far as overclocking, can you do it like on the Droid 1 with setcpu and custom kernels?
     
  5. DroidMakesPwn

    DroidMakesPwn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bootloader....locked...horribly. But it can be over clocked just get the app it's the easiest way and it has a lot of other nice features including a widget.
     
  6. ClaudioKilgannon

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the app the night I rooted and its a lot easier, just curious.