New to CM7...a few questions...

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by hett, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    So, I'm a pretty die-hard fan of Bugless Beast, have used it pretty much exclusively since it came out. I switched to CM7 last night to bridge the gap while waiting for Pete to build his Gingerbread-based BB, because his stock GBread ROM is missing the tweaks I have become accustomed to.

    CM7 is nice, but I have a few concerns that are keeping me from enjoying my device fully.

    I am using the kernel that comes with the ROM.

    Foremost is that I get a bad framerate when scrolling through my homescreens using LauncherPro. Nothing unusable, but...it's choppy, choppier than I prefer. My memory settings are the same I have always used.

    Also, I replaced the CM bootscreen with a bootanimation.zip of the original Droid boot animation, and it's playing back in slow motion. This is the same bootanimation.zip I have used without issue to replace Bugless Beast's boot as well. Frustrating.

    Any help is appreciated, thanks!
  2. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as far as laggy homescreen, have you tried locking it into system memory in the CM settings? Also have you turned the processor up in the CM settings? ADW EX is smooth as butter for me
  3. Eschy
    Offline

    Eschy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to turn your CPU speed up in cyanogenmod settings under performance.
    It goes to 600 by default you have to manually change it to the highest slot
  4. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I have the homescreen locked in memory, yes, and my CPU turned up to 800MHz. I am familiar with the basics. :)
  5. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This is just some things that have come with using gingerbread roms, especially one made for so many different phones. Higher overclocks around 1GHz or so seems to help, and enabling things like compcache and rebooting every couple days to daily are also things that can help with performance and the unenviable slow down that can happen.

    That droid is an older device, so running newer versions of android is going to get tougher and tougher. these are some of the things we will have to deal with to stay cutting edge.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. beaton3344
    Offline

    beaton3344 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What transition are you using with launcherpro. I had trouble with cube. But the rest are extremely fast no lag at all. The best setup I've used is build #8 with honeycomb theme. Going on 18 hours with 30% left, CPU at 600 and 250. No compcache stock kernal, i also checked keep messaging app in memory along with home app... Like I said no lag and speed is more than enough.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. winner00
    Offline

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    First of all I would try a different kernel. Try prime's kernels and see how those go. Link: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/cyanogenmod/127262-kernel-deprimed_test-break-if-you-can.html

    The slow boot animation is because of android 2.3.3. I merged the fix into my latest build if you would like to try it. Link in sig.
  8. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    This is the build I am using :-/
  9. winner00
    Offline

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Yea I am not surprised. The fix doesn't work for me either.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    This made me LOL.
  11. winner00
    Offline

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Well its not my fix.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

cm7 best performance settings

,

cm7 performance settings incredible