New swype

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by Rsswga, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Rsswga

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone tried? Downloaded while ago, email notified of new version..love it
     
  2. jamesw1125

    jamesw1125 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded but i cant "swype" in it....i can type the traditional way but when "swype" i get nothing
     
  3. Rsswga

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess you
    have tried restarting
     
  4. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried that but I receive the following message:
    The Swype package you have been installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality

    After closing the message Swype does not work.
    I have a Droid.
    THanks'
    Monty
     
  5. Rsswga

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont know, mine works good..try uninstallin and install it again
    who knows
     
  6. fdkatz

    fdkatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    I struggled for an hour last night. I think what may have finally worked was making sure the browser was set on full Internet, not mobile configuration. But that is just a guess. It might have been a random act of keystrokes.
     
  7. HelterSkelter

    HelterSkelter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are having problems getting this installed, do the following:
    1) (If Swype is currently installed), go to Settings > Keyboards and uncheck Swype.
    2) Clear the data for Swype and Swype Installer and uninstall any version of Swype and Swype Installer that are currently on your phone.
    3) Make sure all previous Swype Installer apks are removed from the SD card.
    4) Go to Applications > Running > and then kill as many running processes as possible
    5) Run the Swype Installer

    I had the problems mentioned in this thread, but after following this process I was able to install Swype successfully. As I understand it, there is a memory related problem that is preventing the installation from completing.
     
  8. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it t work going the following

    uninstall swype
    uninstall the swype installer
    install the swype installer
    run the installer from the app drawer
     
  9. xxnonamexx

    xxnonamexx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recieved a parsing error when I dl it.