1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New Swype update?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by aaf709, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I'm part of the Beta program and I saw on a couple of sites that that Swype has been updated, The update includes:

    • Resolved an accuracy issue that was introduced in the last Beta update. New software features supporting additional languages were included in the beta before the test plan for those features was complete (it is a beta after all). Subsequent testing identified the accuracy issue and corrections made. These new tests have been incorporated into our regression testing to prevent future accuracy issues.
    • Added Double-Tap-to-Edit and Cursor Restore
    • Added microphone button (QWERTY only. Requires Google Voice Search be pre-integrated in your phone’s ROM)
    • Added French & EXPERIMENTAL Chinese Pinyin languages
    • Modified new word priority defaults. The word-choice-window will now be ordered more intelligently when encountering custom dictionary words
    • Fixed a bug where an extra space would be added when replacing a word by Swyping after opening the word choice window
    • Improved the "Hidden-Word" dialog handling so it doesn't show up as often (more improvements to this next time)
    • Improved prediction when handling various path collisions
    • Lots of minor bug fixes

    Has anyone done the update? I've gotten no email from them on this and their site is down for maintenance. See Swype for Android beta updated | Android Central for more info.
  2. Riley
    Offline

    Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I just installed it. I had uninstalled it a while back because the accuracy got worse and worse. So far so good. Voice mic works as well.

    Sent from Droid SS v4.91
  3. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I wish I could install the newer updates on my droid x :(
  4. PowerPlayGraphix
    Offline

    PowerPlayGraphix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This doesn't work on mine. I updated from my previous swype and it no longer works. I've even uninstalled and reinstalled and keep getting the "this version is not formatted for your phone..." warning. Anyone else having this problem?
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you used the steps outlined in Swype's own forums?
  6. Newps
    Offline

    Newps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid 1 running Ultimate Droid root. The new swype does not work. Swype the company is horrible, never seen a company that makes it harder to use their product. I can still use a previous version from UD as it comes installed. The Swype company however is a joke.
  7. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    i updated to the newer swype today. i'm part of the beta program and never got a email about it either, but i just googled 'swype beta droid' or something like that, clicked the first link to get to the swype website, i logged in, and there was an option to send swype installer to myself. I clicked it, downloaded it from my phone, installed it just fine.

    If anyone is having issues, you can try out my steps and see if it works for you.
  8. jbwiden
    Offline

    jbwiden New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was posted on droid life. Worked for me. I like then ew version.

    Brian Resnik, Community Relations Specialist and Beta Administrator for Swype here...

    For anyone getting the "Configured for another device" error, please make sure that when you hit "Done" after Swype finishes installing, you wait for the "Enable Swype" window to appear.

    DO NOT press the "back" button when you see the "Start Download" button again. The license file is being generated at the time, and exiting the installer will kill the license download.
  9. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,682
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm an official Swype beta tester and also did not get the email. Can someone link to where I can get the newest beta?
  10. y0manda
    Offline

    y0manda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the heads up. I went to the web site and downloaded it. Seems to be more responsive and not so buggy when swyping 'you' and getting 'tou' with the tip indicator always poping up. The microphone speak now seems to work fine. Glad swype fixed the other issues.
  11. lilcdroid
    Offline

    lilcdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Here is the link to the swype installer. beta.swype.com/android/get This is for verified beta users only. I used the link to download the installer, uninstalled the old installer and the swype app, rebooted, then installed the installer. Next run the installer and follow the prompts. Wait until it prompts you to select the swype keyboard. Enjoy

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2010
  12. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I think I've figured out how to make the install go quicker. This is on an unrooted D1 with LauncherPro and Quick Desk.

    I heard that widgets can cause Swype to fail install (you click "Done" and it says there's a version already installed). I cleared the defaults for Home and then rebooted the phone. When it powered up again I selected the stock Home, which has no widgets. It installed the first time, instead of 4 times in a row. It may be a coincidence as I tried it earlier, but that time I used Home Switcher.

    I should've read this earlier. Most of the time I was getting the "Already installed, please uninstall and try again" message. At that time I could use Swype, I got the "Configured for another device" error when I tried it for the first time. Of course the swype part didn't work. I did see the "Start Download" screen come up again, but I didn't wait. The time that it did install, however, just went from Done to the Enable screen, without going to the "Start Download" screen.
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  13. pierced_droid
    Offline

    pierced_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the apk and getting a parse error when trying to install :(