New Smartphone user

RW-1

Silver Member
Reaction score
I already posted in the I love my droid thread, but thought here as well ...

I'm a long time PC Tech and helicopter flight instructor (what a combo eh?)

I'm 45, and have had about 4 cell's, coming from a V3 to a V9, and now it was time to jump to a smartphone, my buddies had iphones, and to tell the truth the reasons I didn't were that I didn't like ATT even while still on it, and that I didn't like the way one would be tied to itunes, or the noose on developers by apple. I do think its a great thing, but not for me.

So it was down to a blackberry or the droid. (Interesting that the forum has a storm 2 ad right now on my post page hehehe)

Taking my PC backround into it, I knew that android, being developed by google, would be a better platform than RIM, I played with both, and that really was the deciding part - knowing this OS should only get better and better. It didn't hurt either that this would be another moto device. Let's face it: if the droid failed, moto would be out of the cell business IMO.

So I got mine Saturday, and while afraid that I might run into issues that other have unfortunately befallen, so far, I seem to be ok.

Me, with a linux based os? Who'd have thought? :)

I think that if anyone out there is looking to get a smartphone, the first thing you have to do is forget about what you are coming from... I see many posts about "why doesn't it do this, or that, because to me, this thing is a computer that happens to make calls, not my last phone which happened to be able to do texting, etc. If you take this approach, you will really begin to enjoy your device more. Besides, there will be apps you can add to get what you need (an example for me was sms popup, works nice IMO)

Get the complete manual from moto's site, and read it. Then you come here and ask the Q's about the unprinted stuff, I already have a list and will post when ready.