1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New SD card--best procedure

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by darksideSound, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. darksideSound
    Offline

    darksideSound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to pull the 8G micro SD chip and put in a 16G chip. With all the apps and pix and everything on the SD chip now, what is the best way to save everything onto the new chip? My Droid2 is rooted and I have some useful utilities.

    Do I want to pop the new chip into a carrier, mount it on my laptop, and tether the Droid to access both, and then switch SD chips on the Droid? Or do I have to write the new chip entirely from the Droid to get it into the right format.??

    Don't want to sweep up the golden sidewalk while I'm standing on it.

    =zz=.
  2. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Just make a copy of it on the computer and then move it to the other one.
  3. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would move any apps you have on the sd card to the phone first, then copy everything from the card to your PC then from your PC to the new card.
  4. ebruot
    Offline

    ebruot New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you will have to format the card with your phone, not your pc first.
  5. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It is not absolutely necessary to format the card. I have switched to several different cards and did not format any of them.
  6. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Agreed
    10Char
  7. captainoftheworld
    Offline

    captainoftheworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Set both the phones up to share files via bluetooth or ftp over wifi, ez mode!
  8. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    On all the various computers/phones/memorys cards/drives/etc I've NEVER had to format any storage media...period, even if I got a popup warning saying I needed to. I don't use apple products, so maybe that's why. OP Just copy to PC, then copy that to the new card...couldn't be easier ;)

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

replace sd card procedure for smartphone