New Root Status & Bounty Thread! Last Updated 01/21/2010

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by acidbath5546, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. acidbath5546

    acidbath5546 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all fellow HTC ERIS/DESIRE users!

    Please all Devs and Member dedicated to finding a root!!!
    We need your help and support!

    Here is some stuff we tried:
    Tried: asroot2
    Worked (y/n): no
    Why?: Hole was more than likely patched.

    Tried: Flashrec
    Worked (y/n): No
    Why?: See above

    Tried: Renaming a rom UPDATE.ZIP / PB001ZIP
    Worked (y/n): no
    Why?: Roms are signed by HTC. We can't sign our own

    Tried: http://www.milw0rm.com/exploits/8478
    Worked (y/n): no
    Why?: I don't know. May be something to look further into.

    Tried: current->clear_child_tid pointer http://web.nvd.nist.gov/view/vuln/de...=CVE-2009-2848
    Worked (y/n): ?
    Why?: Never followed up

    Tried: Buffer over run open ports
    Worked (y/n): ?
    Why?: Suggested by Jmanly, but documentation for an exploit that could work was never found.

    Tried: Editing recovery.zip that goes right into the Ruu Worked (y/n): no
    Why?: This was trying to use the RUU to our advantage and write a custom recovery image to the phone through it. It didn't work because the modified roms failed a signature check.


    Please visit and give your input/exploit efforts/support [​IMG]
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=617203
    __________________
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  2. Franklin

    Franklin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds good ot me
     
  3. jr313

    jr313 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just go over to xda and they say they r so close to rooting 1.5 if not already done...theres a whole thread about it...it sucks im stuck on 2.1 cant go back now....
     
  4. ndreamstate2

    ndreamstate2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can we not go back to the factory setting and rom
     
Search tags for this page

sanei g602 needrom