New ROM Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DrewD33, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently rooted and installed Ice Cream Sandwich on my Droid 1, everything is working fine except for the fact that I no longer have the "Market" app installed on the phone. I've searched around and found really nothing on what I have done wrong and how to fix it.

    I'm pretty new to this, so excuse me if this is a stupid question.

    Thanks!
     
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Welcome to Droid Forums.

    Which one did you install? If it required a GAPPS (Google apps) file to be flashed as well things such as the market would not be there. You would also most likely not be able to sign into your Google account.
     
  3. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed the 9.0.0-RC0-Droid-KANG (http://www.mediafire.com/?raboggykj7zkgxy) version of Ice Cream Sandwich.

    What do I need to do to flash the GAPPS so I can get my Market back? D:
     
  4. kyle10
    Offline

    kyle10 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If u have rom manager u can go into it and download the Google apps

    Sent from my rooted Droid Incredible rocking cm7
     
  5. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Since it is CM9 you do need to flash GAPPS. You would just need to boot back into recovery to flash the appropriate file. But I am still curious as to which thread you got it from originally.
     
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    I have not flashed it but I am thinking he would need the market to get ROM Manager. Unless it comes with CM9.
     
  7. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't open ROM Manager, it starts to load then just sits on a black screen.
     
  8. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't remember the exact thread I got the version from, sorry. After booting into recovery what file do I need to flash? Do I need to download something else to my Droid?

    Or is there a thread you can refer me to? I'm not finding one at the moment.

    Sorry for all the questions :O
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2012
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Yes, you need to get the GAPPS file on there, it would be in .zip format. And the reason I was asking where you got it from is because then I would recommend getting the GAPPS from the same place.
     
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
  11. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Not sure where then, it may have just been someone who uploaded the file or something like that. The thread I linked you to is a reposting from another site but it and the original one both have the GAPPS in them. Check it out and let me know.
     
  13. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright quick question, do you have to flash a different version of GAPPS everytime a new ROM is installed?
     
  14. DrewD33
    Offline

    DrewD33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, successfully flashed the GAPPS. Now I have apps like Gmail, maps, etc, but still no market? What now?
     
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Did you sign in yet?