New Recovery Method

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by BoOmKaPoW, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. BoOmKaPoW

    BoOmKaPoW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have any of you guys heard of Safestrap? It's a new recovery method I found for the Bionic. Lets you boot into clockwork recovery from boot and also dual boot roms. Been using it for a couple days now and its awesome guys. Probably help a lot of you guys out that are bricking your phones and not being able to get into recovery.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. AlexSB

    AlexSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive seen the thread over at rootz, but I still went with bionic bootstrap. How is it compared to Bionic bootstrap?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  3. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Too scary for me. Is there a nice easy step by step guide available?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You can follow my D3 guide in my signature. That's what it was developed on ;)

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
     
  5. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Woohoo!! More fun-time while awaiting the OTA. I was getting really bored just sitting and waiting at Stock and just plain ole rooted. ;)
     
  6. BlueSami

    BlueSami Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Citrus Heights
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I remove bionic recovery? Should I just uninstall the app?


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. BoOmKaPoW

    BoOmKaPoW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep that's all you gotta do is uninstall bionic bootstrap.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. bros

    bros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guy, bros here and i am new to the forum, I was wondering about the CWR, I have backup my bionic using clockwork recovery and when I want to restore from my backup i got an error message. any one have any idea as to what did i do wrong here. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestion.
     
  9. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    What kind of error was it? A specific message? Did you rename the backup?
     
  10. bros

    bros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    MD5 mismatch! error. I try a few time and yes i did rename the backup.
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Yeah, you can't do that. That backup is hosed.
     
  12. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Try renaming the backup without any odd characters just use underscores, then try it again