New RAZR won't connect to home WiFi

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by thc1967, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. thc1967

    thc1967 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    My home WiFi has been up and running for a long time. Three laptops and 2 phones already connect to it. I'm pretty sure the issue isn't with my router.

    I've tried cycling through the various security settings: WPA2, WEP, even open just to test it out.

    The RAZR detects the network and lets me put in a password, but then it constantly cycles between detecting connecting, and disconnected.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    Is it doing this while active or after a period of sitting?

    Have you checked if your router needs updating?

    Have you tried unplugging your router? I know it works with your other devices, but I have seen this correct buggy connections before.

    EDIT: One more question. Does it do this with other networks?
     
  3. thc1967

    thc1967 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    In other news, both my Motorola phones won't connect - OG Droid and now the RAZR.

    But my Sony Viao laptop, Dell laptop, Macbook, iPhone 4, and a Samsung Android phone all connect without issue.

    EDIT: And now my RAZR decides to make a liar out of me and connects. WTF. Anyway... Thanks?
     
  4. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    HA! Like making a doctor appointment and on the day you are to go, you feel better.

    I know you probably don't like to think about replacing your router, but it's possible that it's the problem. I had something similar with a router that worked fine with everything until my cable company upgraded my connection speed. Suddenly things would work fine, then stop, then work, then stop. The cable company swore it had nothing to do with what they changed - and maybe it was just a coincidence - but as soon as I replaced the router everything worked fine. I spent less than $100 on the new router and more than $100 of my time trying to fix it before I got the router.

    If the problem comes back, and if your phone will connect fine at a Starbucks or Panera, I'd try getting another router. If it doesn't make a difference, most places will let you return it.

    But I'm glad it's working for you now. Hopefully it will stay that way.
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,153
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,723
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Agreed. Some routers have a hard time with authenticating too many wireless devices at once, some have issues with IP conflicts - again due to too many devices or due to devices which don't follow the 802.11 protocol to the letter. An upgrade of the router may very well be the easiest and most effective correction.

    To see if the above is the problem, disconnect all other devices from the wireless router (both wired and wireless), power cycle the router then try to connect with the phones. If it works fine after multiple attempts, there's your problem.
     
  6. msblueline

    msblueline Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try seeing if you have an allowance on your router.

    I have mine set for only allowing five guest on at a time and then I also have the regualr settings for my computer and phone and whatever else I might have.

    See if it could just be a admin issue rather than a technical issue.

    msblueline
     
  7. Kimo91

    Kimo91 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Also depends how old your router is. My Razr wouldn't connect to my router even after getting a new SIM card. Finally caved in and bought a new router and bam, it connected just fine. FYI my router was 3 years old when I tried to connect to it

    Sent from my Rooted and Safestrapped Moto DROID RAZR
     
  8. clindsay1108

    clindsay1108 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am a new to the forum's so please be easy on me. I just bought my razr and I can connect to my home Wi-Fi but it continues to disconnect itself. I have a VIZIO XWR100 Dual-Band HD Wireless Internet Router. I run my laptop, my Touchpad, and my wireless Sony TV just fine. I am confused as to why this is happening. Please help. Thank you.
     
  9. ascreen06

    ascreen06 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you've got the mac filtering feature enabled on ur router you've got to go in and input ur phones mac address in for the router to give the phone access...that was my prob...took me 8 hours to remember/ figure it out.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  10. wcjeep

    wcjeep Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +18
    As previously mentioned check your router firmware. Are you using N wireless? Does the Razr work with 2.5ghz And 5ghz? Can you login at Starbucks and McDonalds?
     
  11. clindsay1108

    clindsay1108 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked my MAC filtering and it's not on. I also checked to see if I had any firm wear updates and do not.

    I can connect to my wifi network at work with out a problem.

    Any other sugguestions? Or places I need to check?
     
  12. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    How old is your router? Hate to say it, but alot of times that's it. Try unplugging it and see if it works after a reboot. Otherwise I'd try another one.
     
  13. TRIKOTRET

    TRIKOTRET Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've been having wifi issues with my razor too. Might be my router since no problems at work. Which router would you guys recommend to work good with razor
     
  14. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    I have a linksys but only because it worked well with my ISP. Buy one where you can return it if there are problems.
     
  15. brobox

    brobox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Same thing happened to a friend of mine with an old "g" router, his new Razr would not connect. Took my spare "n" router over to his house, hooked it up and his Razr took right off.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr m won't connect to wifi
,
droid razr maxx wont connect to wifi
,
droid razr wont connect to home wifi
,

droid razr wont connect to wifi

,
my droid razr wont connect to my wifi
,

my droid razr wont connect to wifi

,
razr m won't connect to wifi
,

razr wont connect to wifi

,
why wont my droid razr connect to my wifi
,

why wont my droid razr connect to wifi