1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New phone, quick question..

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by JLangevin, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So Verizon is going to be sending me a new Droid since mine has a faulty charger port, here is my question...

    I will be returning my original phone to stock unrooted 2.1, when I get thew phone, I will be rooting it, will I be able to simply load a backup ROM (will backup my current ROM before I unroot) on the new device, or will this only work on the phone the backup was created on?

    I hate the idea of having to setup everything all over again... ugh.

    Can this be done?
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I believe it can be done.
  3. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so since I use Clockwork Recovery, do I simply do the standard Root wth RSD, load CW, reboot in recovery and select my backup zip?

    Whats the worst that would happen?

    I didnt know if there would be a problem since I dont know if there is any identifying data built into the rom that would conflict with the new device.
  4. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Pop your SD card in, flash SPRecovery or Clockwork. As long as the backup in on the SD card (AFTER ROOT OF COURSE), Yes it will restore your backup no problem. I did it just 3 days ago for a friend. She was rooted with Sapphire and a theme. Her new Droid looked exactly like her old one in no time.
  5. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is excellent news! Thanks..

    Also, is it possible for CW to flash my unrooted backup that was made in SPR? When I try and load the zip saved in nandroid that I named unrooted2.1_backup it says something along the line of "No data"

    If for some reason my pre-rooted backup is corrupt, how do I get this back to stock 2.1? Im assuming I need to load an old 2.0 Rom and do the OTA update? Can someone provide instructions on that please?

    Sorry to be a pain, but I certainly appreciate this community!
  6. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    You can't install a backup made in SPR via CW, and vice versa. The nandroids are incompatible.
  7. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should I be able to simply reflash SPR onto the device using RSD Lite again? Then perform my restore?
  8. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    You can use ROM Manager to flash different recoveries.
  9. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the free version allow me to do this? I have not, and dont plan on buying Rom Manager. I only used it to get CW Recovery loaded.
  10. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I have no idea.

    Are you running stock now? Why not make a backup in CW before loading your old nandroid?
  11. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I am not running stock now. My new device will not be here until monday. I am currently running Sapphire 8.4 with Galaxy s Theme.
  12. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Sorry, mid-afternoon energy null here...I think I'm confused as to what you want to do with the new device other than restoring an old nandroid.
  13. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to backup my current device and restore the backup on my new device...

    I want to take my old device and restore it back to an unrooted state. The unrooted backup was saved with SPR not CW.
  14. RobStemen
    Offline

    RobStemen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    What I did was backup immediately before I swapped phones (they let you keep your sdcard which is where the backups are) and then I used RSD Lite and sbf's to get my old Droid to fresh, out of the box 2.0.1. If that's worth anything.
  15. JLangevin
    Offline

    JLangevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where can I get the 2.0.1 Rom?
  16. RobStemen
    Offline

    RobStemen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas