1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New OTA question

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by jeremyd, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. jeremyd
    Offline

    jeremyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got hit with the upload from verizion on my droid for the 2.2 is it worth blocking? and how do i block the ota i have an old ota blocker that i got from the first smoked glass rom from UD a while ago. How is everyone blocking the ota?
  2. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would think that almost all of the 2.2 froyo roms block it automatically..
  3. KingofLrk
    Offline

    KingofLrk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just let it install. Since you're rooted and on a custom rom, it will fail and the notification will stop.
  4. mrpotatohead99
    Offline

    mrpotatohead99 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, I believe that is entirely NOT correct. If you install the OTA 2.2 update or any OTA update from Verizon it WILL update successfully but you will LOSE root access. Anyone else know for sure? I would not recommend you install the OTA if you are rooted. I'm almost positive you will lose root.
  5. arty2hottie
    Offline

    arty2hottie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Im pretty sure you will lose root if you install the OTA.
  6. hakaida
    Offline

    hakaida New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That icon is bugging me. I know that I'll probably end up accidentally click on it. There's gotta be a hack to get rid of it.
  7. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    hmmm... i have also heard that it will stop. thats what was happening when 2.1 came out way back when.

    theoretically i believe that it should update, but be blocked, then your system will read up to date
  8. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I have clockwork recovery installed. When I told the OTA to go ahead, the phone rebooted into Clockwork recovery, and the log at the bottom had a failed installation message in it. I rebooted and all is well, root is intact, etc.

    Edit: This is on BB 0.4
  9. elninost0rm
    Offline

    elninost0rm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EDIT: Just tried what Hett did.

    I can confirm that this DOES work to block the update message. I was running BB 0.4 Froyo and I got the update prompt. I had the latest Clockwork installed, hit accept the update, rebooted into recovery, started installing, then gave the android symbol with an exclamation point. Hit the button, said install aborted, rebooted, prompt gone.
  10. jpayne97
    Offline

    jpayne97 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Do I need to remove the update file so its not taking up space? If so where is it?
  11. bekyndnunwind
    Offline

    bekyndnunwind New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I am using SPRecovery, and want to get rid of this System Update message. How do I do it without losing root and screwing everything up???

    I do NOT want to apply this update, I'm happy with BB 0.4 ... I will upgrade when 0.5 comes out.
  12. vzwtek
    Offline

    vzwtek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it updates and you screw it, you can just use moto rsd lite and reflash it back to to stock with the older droid .sbf. And then root it again and reflash custom recover and rom.
  13. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then you will keep getting the notification.

    Other root users have reported that the OTA fails to install....
  14. Dougw133
    Offline

    Dougw133 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the ota last night. Installed it and sprecovery blocked it.
    On another note it made mention of adobe flash. Are we finally getting flash??
  15. sincerity
    Offline

    sincerity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    another confirm of it starting to install and stopping
  16. Dougw133
    Offline

    Dougw133 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. Just as its supposed to. It revolts into sp and gets.blockes and.no more annoyy
  17. PORTnPOLISH
    Offline

    PORTnPOLISH New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I am also having this issue, I will post back as soon as I confirm it is blocked.
  18. PORTnPOLISH
    Offline

    PORTnPOLISH New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I I tapped install update and the phone rebooted into recovery. I then rebooted it and have had no update prompts yet.
  19. surfbuckeyesbc
    Offline

    surfbuckeyesbc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Verified, CW does block install, no more notifications!
  20. Mominator
    Offline

    Mominator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, good! I'm not the only one who has gotten the update prompt with BB 0.4! Woke me up very quickly this morning, I can tell ya...