New OTA question

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by jeremyd, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. jeremyd

    jeremyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got hit with the upload from verizion on my droid for the 2.2 is it worth blocking? and how do i block the ota i have an old ota blocker that i got from the first smoked glass rom from UD a while ago. How is everyone blocking the ota?
     
  2. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would think that almost all of the 2.2 froyo roms block it automatically..
     
  3. KingofLrk

    KingofLrk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just let it install. Since you're rooted and on a custom rom, it will fail and the notification will stop.
     
  4. mrpotatohead99

    mrpotatohead99 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I believe that is entirely NOT correct. If you install the OTA 2.2 update or any OTA update from Verizon it WILL update successfully but you will LOSE root access. Anyone else know for sure? I would not recommend you install the OTA if you are rooted. I'm almost positive you will lose root.
     
  5. arty2hottie

    arty2hottie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im pretty sure you will lose root if you install the OTA.
     
  6. hakaida

    hakaida Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That icon is bugging me. I know that I'll probably end up accidentally click on it. There's gotta be a hack to get rid of it.
     
  7. beneharris

    beneharris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm... i have also heard that it will stop. thats what was happening when 2.1 came out way back when.

    theoretically i believe that it should update, but be blocked, then your system will read up to date
     
  8. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have clockwork recovery installed. When I told the OTA to go ahead, the phone rebooted into Clockwork recovery, and the log at the bottom had a failed installation message in it. I rebooted and all is well, root is intact, etc.

    Edit: This is on BB 0.4
     
  9. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    EDIT: Just tried what Hett did.

    I can confirm that this DOES work to block the update message. I was running BB 0.4 Froyo and I got the update prompt. I had the latest Clockwork installed, hit accept the update, rebooted into recovery, started installing, then gave the android symbol with an exclamation point. Hit the button, said install aborted, rebooted, prompt gone.
     
  10. jpayne97

    jpayne97 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to remove the update file so its not taking up space? If so where is it?
     
  11. bekyndnunwind

    bekyndnunwind Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using SPRecovery, and want to get rid of this System Update message. How do I do it without losing root and screwing everything up???

    I do NOT want to apply this update, I'm happy with BB 0.4 ... I will upgrade when 0.5 comes out.
     
  12. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it updates and you screw it, you can just use moto rsd lite and reflash it back to to stock with the older droid .sbf. And then root it again and reflash custom recover and rom.
     
  13. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Then you will keep getting the notification.

    Other root users have reported that the OTA fails to install....
     
  14. Dougw133

    Dougw133 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the ota last night. Installed it and sprecovery blocked it.
    On another note it made mention of adobe flash. Are we finally getting flash??
     
  15. sincerity

    sincerity Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    another confirm of it starting to install and stopping