New OTA for Verizon GS3

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by jntdroid, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    If you manually check, you can probably pull it now. Here's a link to the actual .zip that's downloaded: http://db.tt/g0CRiI1e

    And yes, it automatically renamed it to update.zip and puts it in the /cache/fota directory.

    My question as a Verizon GS3 newb is will it mess anything up if I reflash stock recovery with EZ Recovery and let it install? I'm not too worried about root access, but I'm running the stock system with root access and an unlocked bootloader (via EZ Unlock) and it's the bootloader I'm more worried about.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. Raw Dodge

    Raw Dodge Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've read that taking the Ota locks the bootloader down so the new unlock tool doesn't work, it also breaks root... Doesn't seem to be worth taking if you are ever planning on rooting. It doesn't add much either so no big loss not taking it..

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    Thxz for breaking that down for me.I was gonna root simply to get GW,now after reading what I read today looks like we can't get now.Am I correct on that?



    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. BrendonSF

    BrendonSF Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. jamjr74

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +14
    New ota did unroot my phone but I just re-rooted it with no issues. Ota did not re-lock my bootloader.
     
  6. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    If you previously updated your baseband the OTA will fail. You will need to go back to the original baseband and then accept the OTA.
     
  7. zacedward

    zacedward Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think I got the ota not sure I did not tell me to download it I checked Manuel and says I'm up to date here is my screen shot of what I'm running Is this the new one

    View attachment 56003
     
  8. jamjr74

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes that is the new one.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. zacedward

    zacedward Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sweet thanks I wonder why it didn't tell me to download it
     
  10. jamjr74

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +14
    Sorry I was incorrect. That is not the new build. New build ends with g7.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. zacedward

    zacedward Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I wonder why I can't download the new one it says no new software available
     
  12. jamjr74

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +14
    Not sure why that would happen. Maybe update hasn't been pushed to all devices yet???

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
android error 402
,
code 402 on samsung galaxy s4 software update
,
galaxy note 2 update failed code 402
,
mje to nc4 update failed 402
,
new ota for verizon gs3
,
samsung code 402
,

update failed code 402

,
verizon ota failed 402
,
verizon update failed 402
,
verizon update failed code 402