New OS is garbage.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by WillinNH, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. WillinNH
    Offline

    WillinNH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have a Droid 2.3.3 and recently added system update 4.5.A955.Verizon.en.US. Detest the darkened screen slowed my droid down, and several apps (most notably Inotia 3) give me a black screen and no longer work. Also WiFi tether seems to be blocked. Would like to uninstall the system update, is this possible?
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  2. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. You can just SBF back to froyo.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. trdsoarer93
    Offline

    trdsoarer93 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Where on this website will someone find the Stock Rom - and a step by step instruction on how to install it -
    theres a bunch of custom roms ..
    but not really helpful for those whom just want the previous stock rom.
  4. chrstdvd
    Offline

    chrstdvd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    McKenney Va
  5. WillinNH
    Offline

    WillinNH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lord of the rings?

    I'm not sure exactly what this means, but I think it has something to do with lord of the rings...
  6. WillinNH
    Offline

    WillinNH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Link broken.

    The Zip file is missing... :(
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I would suggest that you have a bad install of the update and/or some apps that don't work well with the update. The first thing I would is a Factory Hard Reset and if that doesn't totally fix your issues, start taking off the offending apps and see if your phone does better. Then reinstall the apps and see if the crap comes back. If so, remove those apps as they need to be updated to work with the new os version. Try other apps that do the same job. Good luck.
  8. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Even after doing a clean install and hard reset, the new OS is still garbage. Motorola really dropped the ball on the D2, even before it was released.
  9. biknut1
    Offline

    biknut1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, K
    Perhaps you need to take your phone to the store and ask them to SBF it for you. My wife has a D2 and it is the bomb compared to my D2G. Even on Froyo, she could use the heck out of it for work all day and still have battery left. On GB it is running pretty much the same. And I have my D2G to a state that I can live with by buying Gorilla Gadgets Battery, rooting, SetCPU, GB. Maybe yours has a hardware issue, or as stated above some apps are not playing nicely with your phone.
  10. Khiraji
    Offline

    Khiraji Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry to hear you're having problems... GB runs great on my D2. I'm still rocking the MonsterGB Leak - been looking for a compelling reason to load up the official OTA, but as the saying goes "if it ain't broke..."

    If a factory reset fails, definitely take it down to the VZW store and see if they can SBF if. Maybe something tiny was corrupted on the initial download/install?
  11. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Really? You don't think I know how to SBF properly, huh? I was a certified Motorola technician til May, 2010. I've done my fair share of SBF'ing on numerous phones, and it's unfortunate that the D2 is the biggest piece of trash I've ever used. The battery life is garbage, and I can't get a day of use out of it unless I simply don't use it and it's in standby all day.

    It's not my phone. It's every single D2 and D2G released. They are all a big waste of money.
  12. Algae998
    Offline

    Algae998 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know if I share the extend of your dislike towards the D2, but Im definitely frustrated with mine. It seems, ever since the new OS update, my phone runs like crap. First I got a boot loop, then after a factory reset now my wifi doesnt work, 3G works intermittently and I get 3-4 hours on the battery before I need to charge again.

    Is SBF'ing similar to factory reset, except you dont loose your data?
  13. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    You will lose all data not stored via Google or on your SD card if you SBF.
  14. Algae998
    Offline

    Algae998 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good to know, thanks.
    Steady but surely Im learning more about Android and the D2.
Search tags for this page

galaxy centura custom roms

,

inotia 3 doesn't start after system update

,

inotia 3 screen goes black on nexus 7

,

inotia3 black screen

,

samsung galaxy centura initial download