New member..need help with wi fi!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by jmetal81, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. jmetal81

    jmetal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid x...wi fi not connecting..called Verizon did master reset..did not work..any one can help?
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    When you say it's not working, you mean it won't connect to any hot spot you've tried, at home/work/free in the community?
     
  3. jmetal81

    jmetal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    reply

    Ya..I have food..I sign into my network from my phone successfully then hit turn on wi fi..its says connecting then establishing connection then it disconnects ..repeats that over and over
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    What router are you trying to connect to? Does it simply not work at home or is it everywhere that you've tried it?
     
  5. jmetal81

    jmetal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used it before at a hospital and home always worked..all the sudden not working..trying to connect to my food router

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    What is a food router? Is that a brand name or model? Or is that the name of the hotspot?

    Delete all your stored hotspots and try connecting again if you haven't already. That usually fixes things.
     
  7. jmetal81

    jmetal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Food..typed wrong..my fios router

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Ah, that makes more sense.

    Okay, if you have any stored hotspots delete them. ALL of them. Then reboot the phone and try to connect again. This clears up most of the issues.

    Is the router broadcasting an encrypted signal? SSID?
     
  9. jmetal81

    jmetal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No no encrypted signal..try that..thanks dude

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App