New Member -Googlevoice question

nbb

Reaction score
Hi. I just got a Droid Eris with Verizon. I'm actually new to data pkgs. as well, being content til now with simply voice and text from Verizon. I consider that I know just enough to be dangerous so I'm hoping someone has already solved my problem and can tell me, yes you can or no you can't!

To use my Verizon voice service in the Dominican Republic, it costs $1.99/minute.... I'm tired of paying this. I have a Google voice number local to my Verizon number. My question is this: If I make a call from my Droid while physically in DR to a US number using google voice over either (a) the Verizon data network <unlim kb avail for $2.16/day> OR (b) an existing wireless connection that bypasses the verizon network I should not accrue Verizon cell minutes, right? The same would go if I received a call to the google voice number, right?

Also, if I forward my Verizon number to the Google number, would any calls made to the Verizon number accrue as regular (not the $1.99) cell minutes since it's a forward to the local Google number?

Any help is appreciated.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I've not be outside of the good old USA since 71 (pre cell/smart phones) I think the VZW customer service folks should be able to provide you with your best options.

Mike

LuN3yDaV3

Reaction score
International calls: Making international calls

You can make international calls at very low rates with Google Voice. You can do this at any time through the Google Voice website or the Google Voice phone system.
Get started by purchasing credit through Google Checkout. Rates vary by country and will be counted on a per minute basis. To view international calling rates, simply click the See Rates link in the Billing tab of your Google Voice Settings page.
You can make calls outside the United States from the Google Voice website or through the Google Voice phone system: