New market and ss4.96

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by bamick823, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I get the new market to work in 4.96? I erased the vending apk from system ten apps rebooted then installed new market. Rebooted again but everytime I go to the market it just forcloses. Any ideas?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
  3. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Chevy, tried that link and still no go. Should have I deleted the vending API from systdem before flashing the vending zip? I didn't. I flashed vending zip then rebooted, opened new market and auto foreclosed. ???

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hmmmmm - try deleting it first, then flash the zip - let me know!
     
  5. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Deleted vending apk from system app, rebooted into recovery ( clockwork). Installed vending zip. Rebooted phone. Clicked market. Accepted Google's terms. Said loading.....then foreclosed. :(

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI did not wipe coming from UD2.5.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you clear the cache in the older version of the market first? Deleting the market shouldn't be necessary. I had many force closing myself and I eventually got it to work by doing something I had done several times before during my many different approaches to the issue. I think the file itself that you use may have something to do with the force closes.

    Try this one by installing it over the previous version and let us know what happens. It's not the vending but let's see if the problem might be related to the file you are using specifically. Other than clearing the market cache go into recovery and install the zip file over the previous market.
     
    #7 Larry_ThaGr81, Jan 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  8. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've already flashed the rom again so it has the old market installed now. Want me to clear market cache and install zip over this version?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that is how I got it to work.
     
  10. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seemed like I had performed those instructions I gave you several times myself before I finally got it to work, the only thing that was changing was the zip file I used. I kept switching new themed market versions and finally got the combination to work. The market file I uploaded is the one that I'm currently running.
     
  11. bamick823

    bamick823 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off I would like to thank you guys for helping me with this. Finally got it to work. Both versions worked. Just had to clear the cache. Once again, thanks very much

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0