New LTE off Switch For Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Android News' started by WenWM, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. WenWM
    Offline

    WenWM Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]

    Every Thunderbolt owner knows how incredibly fast the battery on the new device dies when on an LTE connection, and with no easy way to turn off this feature, a new developer just released an app for it. The good guys over at TeamAndIRC just pushed out an application that gives you a simple way to toggle your LTE on an off when you need it. This isn’t a super sexy application, just made to get the job done, and get it done quickly.

    Source: LTE onOFF brings an easy way to turn off 4G on your Thunderbolt | Android Central
  2. Its TwiX
    Offline

    Its TwiX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    <3

    Now my battery will last for more than 14 hours.
  3. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    14 hours? What do you do? Leave it in your pocket?:) I'm lucky to get 8-9 hours without a charge. But I do think I use my phone fairly heavily.

    On topic, this is great news. Gonna try it out now.
  4. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Works perfectly.
  5. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Idle question... Does a tbolt try to connect LTE in a 3G-only area? If I get one before LTE is turned up in my area, do I need to be concerned about this?
  6. king_43
    Offline

    king_43 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when I do this will I still be able to use data and talk at the same time? I am not in a 4g area but noticed when messing with them in the past it would not let me access data when on the phone
  7. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.
  8. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it will.
  9. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. And you can always, you know, try it.
  10. dafischman
    Offline

    dafischman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please do more research before making comments. The TB does have the ability to do voice and data on VZW's 3G network simultaneously. This has been confirmed by many, many people.

    Josh
  11. MadScientist
    Offline

    MadScientist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson MS
    I can vouch for this. We even have voice and data after the network switch following issues with eHRPD connections. I've never been on LTE and have voice and data all the time. How do u think I get through the calls with my wife ;-)

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious...

    Does it bother anyone that you have to disable 4G, the big 'feature' of the TB, in order to get acceptable battery life?

    I'm not trying to stir the pot, I just find this absurd that you folks have to do this to prolong battery life.
  13. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Oh, I'm sorry, Josh. Everything I've read.about the CDMA network has stated that voice and data won't work at the same time. I didn't mean to offend. Guess that is all the more reason to want a tbolt!

    You might wanna loosen those a bit... They seem to have bunched up on ya...
  14. bigjonmoo73
    Offline

    bigjonmoo73 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Awesome! Good looking out!

    Sent from Thunderbolt!
  15. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Was thinking the same

    Are the speeds of LTE (and the new over-priced tiered data plans) even worth it if it creates such a battery drain that you have to disable it to get it through the work-day, let alone the actual day?

    I mean, its great that its fast and all, but if it can only hold a 8 hour charge with minimal use, it seems like that 'feature' is more of a bug than a benefit.
  16. HamDog
    Offline

    HamDog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's the exact same thing as with my girlfriend's EVO. Turn on 4g and maybe get 1/2 days use out of it. Turn it off and woohoo! But she subscribes to Sprint's "unlimited data" tethering for $30/month. She uses her phone for her laptop's Internet connection at home (canceled DSL). So when she gets home, she plugs in her EVO and turns on 4G, then uses her laptop at 5.0 mb/s speed! Shen she leaves the house, she turns off 4G.

    And with this Japanese nuclear mess-up, I don't think we'll be seeing any nuke-powered Android's anytime soon :icon_eek: Unless we all promise not to ever drop our phones :)
  17. subguy812
    Offline

    subguy812 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't bother me in the least, I live in a 4G area and never turn it off. I see no reason why I need to. It doesn't make sense to turn off the biggest feature of the phone. I think there is alot of over reaction to the phone and battery life, use the phone and enjoy the technology and speed. My stock battery lasts, as a rule, 10 hours of normally using my phone. In other words not thinking about what I am using, if I want youtube I do it, the internet I do it. I have only un-synced the things I don't use ie... stocks, news, and extended the sync times on things I could, and get immediate sync on all 4 email accounts. My screen is on 25%. Now if you are using Yahoo to video chat it is totally understandable that it will drain the battery. Yes HTC should have put a bigger battery. I always had 2 batteries for my OG Droid. I kept my screen low, used my Droid the same way I use this. On the TB anything you turn off is just more battery life, the same as any phone. I didn't get the phone to worry about it. I also wanted to wait for the Bionic or something else, but honestly Moto may put a 1900Mah battery in it but I guaranteee it will be the same thing with the battery management. Folks won't be happy, the people who don't have it will find a reason to justify not having it, the folks who do have it will feel a need to justify that as well. I think the moving forward, until battery technology advances, we are looking at the same issues with smartphones. I don't think it is possible to have a nice lean, sexy device with today's technology and expect to go CONSISTENTLY all day everyday and not charge in a 24 hour period.
  18. bluefire7002
    Offline

    bluefire7002 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesnt bother me either... Sorta like now that I'm also running the 1.8 kernel... When i actually wanna use my phone I simply turn it up in SetCPU to 1.8, when i know i just need it to last me all day (out of the house) and going to be texting and calling later in the day, I will turn it down to 1.1 or 1.2 and get way better battery life. It takes 5 seconds to do :icon_ banana:
  19. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some good responses.

    I know it doesn't take much to toggle 4G on/off, I just wanted to get some feedback from you guys to see how you felt about it.
  20. bluefire7002
    Offline

    bluefire7002 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no problem bro :)
    yea it is a main feature but I mean it can also be an inconvenience like if your not going to be using it (that period of time) might as well turn it off for a bit
Search tags for this page
how to turn off location on htc thunderbolt 6400
,

how to turn off location on thunderbolt

,

tasker turn off lte

,
thunderbolt phone on off switch