New LTE off Switch For Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Android News' started by WenWM, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. WenWM
    Offline

    WenWM Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +4
    [​IMG]

    Every Thunderbolt owner knows how incredibly fast the battery on the new device dies when on an LTE connection, and with no easy way to turn off this feature, a new developer just released an app for it. The good guys over at TeamAndIRC just pushed out an application that gives you a simple way to toggle your LTE on an off when you need it. This isn’t a super sexy application, just made to get the job done, and get it done quickly.

    Source: LTE onOFF brings an easy way to turn off 4G on your Thunderbolt | Android Central
     
  2. Its TwiX
    Offline

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    <3

    Now my battery will last for more than 14 hours.
     
  3. lockman
    Offline

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    14 hours? What do you do? Leave it in your pocket?:) I'm lucky to get 8-9 hours without a charge. But I do think I use my phone fairly heavily.

    On topic, this is great news. Gonna try it out now.
     
  4. lockman
    Offline

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works perfectly.
     
  5. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Idle question... Does a tbolt try to connect LTE in a 3G-only area? If I get one before LTE is turned up in my area, do I need to be concerned about this?
     
  6. king_43
    Offline

    king_43 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    when I do this will I still be able to use data and talk at the same time? I am not in a 4g area but noticed when messing with them in the past it would not let me access data when on the phone
     
  7. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Voice and data will not work simultaneously on VZW's 3G network, regardless of the device you have.
     
  8. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes it will.
     
  9. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes. And you can always, you know, try it.
     
  10. dafischman
    Offline

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please do more research before making comments. The TB does have the ability to do voice and data on VZW's 3G network simultaneously. This has been confirmed by many, many people.

    Josh
     
  11. MadScientist
    Offline

    MadScientist Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jackson MS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can vouch for this. We even have voice and data after the network switch following issues with eHRPD connections. I've never been on LTE and have voice and data all the time. How do u think I get through the calls with my wife ;-)

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just curious...

    Does it bother anyone that you have to disable 4G, the big 'feature' of the TB, in order to get acceptable battery life?

    I'm not trying to stir the pot, I just find this absurd that you folks have to do this to prolong battery life.
     
  13. edbdroid
    Offline

    edbdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I'm sorry, Josh. Everything I've read.about the CDMA network has stated that voice and data won't work at the same time. I didn't mean to offend. Guess that is all the more reason to want a tbolt!

    You might wanna loosen those a bit... They seem to have bunched up on ya...
     
  14. bigjonmoo73
    Offline

    bigjonmoo73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Awesome! Good looking out!

    Sent from Thunderbolt!
     
  15. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +37
    Was thinking the same

    Are the speeds of LTE (and the new over-priced tiered data plans) even worth it if it creates such a battery drain that you have to disable it to get it through the work-day, let alone the actual day?

    I mean, its great that its fast and all, but if it can only hold a 8 hour charge with minimal use, it seems like that 'feature' is more of a bug than a benefit.
     
Search tags for this page
how to turn off location on htc thunderbolt 6400
,

how to turn off location on thunderbolt

,

tasker turn off lte

,
thunderbolt phone on off switch