New Launcher+ App! Only adds home screens without any of the junk!

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by superdesi, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Other users have also reported it here so I'm not going to take the credit of finding it. I was originally alerted by a user at androidforums.

    Anyways, say good bye to the constant force closing og pandahome or crashing home++!

    Launcher+ Beta was just released (by the same guys who made home++) and it ONLY adds extra homescreens. Its minimalist, its AWESOME, and so far it works well.

    I'll be honest I had one force close, but I'm a HEAVY user of widgets, so that's probably why. Even still, one force close is still not that bad. Also, I had issues with home++ and Apps organizer, but this works really well with Apps organizer.

    Get it while its HOT!!! :icon_ banana:

    Search Launcher+ in the market or you can go here.
     
  2. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool thanks for the heads up!! I'm going to go try it out right now!
     
  3. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After playing around with it, it seems Launcher+ and pure calendar widget do not get along...Launcher+ force closes a lot when I try to play around with the pure calendar widget. It got so bad that when I clicked on a date to view my daily appointments, Launcher+ kept force closing as soon as it relaunched, so I was caught in a force close loop o_O

    But I just pressed the home button and it reloaded okay. But nonetheless, watch out for pure calendar widget. If anyone has a positive experience with pure calendar and Launcher+ let me know maybe its something I'm doing.
     
  4. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm confused.... I installed Launcher+ but dont see it anywhere. I've checked my apps list, under widgets etc... and dont see it, however it is listed as being installed. Can anyone clue me in on this?
     
  5. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I dont see it in mine either. Try pressing the home button, that might bring it up. If not, go into market and hit settings/menu and go to your downloads. You should be able to access it from there.
     
  6. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Figured out some tweaks for Launcher+ to get it working smoothly, thanks to other users at another forum site. Now, Launcher itself is very stable and I've only had 2 issues with force closing (pure calendar) but when I implemented the two fixes below, problems were all solved.

    1)Remove widgets from your other home apps, that will allow the widgets in launcher to run smoother

    2)the best way to fix Launcher++ apps is to uninstall your other home apps completely. This will help a lot. This option is only for those who are set on using Launcher+ as their primary homescreen app. For others who are merely testing it, this is not a feasible option obviously

    on a sidenote, I saw that once I uninstalled a homescreen app (pandahome and home++) and when i reinstalled them, they brought back my homescreens the way i left them customized...but there were some discrepencies. Widgets especially were missing in some. But anyways, just a thought for those who are thoughtful.
     
  7. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks very much to both of you.
     
  8. andrew23215

    andrew23215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow this is pretty cool. Go to the Launcher+ homescreen and hold the menu button and u can select a screen to go to instead of swiping all the way.
     
  9. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Love it! Now I have 7 screens without all the other bells and whistles I did not want
     
  10. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I remember reading that somewhere but completely forgot abt it. Thanks for the tip, its pretty sick!
     
  11. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having force close issues again. When I get a txt message pop up and try to answer it in landscape mode, force close looping starts to occur. Also, sometimes when I wake up my droid in landscape mode it force closes. Can anyone else replicate this problem or know of any fix?
     
  12. droiddict

    droiddict Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking about trying this app but can anyone tell me why it needs access to make phone calls? I hate those warnings about all the access possibilities.
     
  13. 928Droid

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
    GREAT FIND! Thanks!
     
  14. superdesi

    superdesi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think most if not all homescreen apps require access to the phone app. Possibly to tell phone app where to exit to when you hit the home button? I'm not exactly sure tho since I am not well versed in android app permissions.
     
  15. Graffin

    Graffin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    This app is awesome. I'm digging it. Thanks for the recommendation.

    This may be a stupid question, but once I've set launcher as my default home app, how do I get back to my old home screen so I can remove widgets and such?
     
Search tags for this page
launche
,

launcher