new kernel; widgets not updating

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by islander90, May 18, 2011.

  1. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've already searched this issue and tried to tackle it myself, but can't find a solution. I'd rather not do a full wipe and re-install, but will if I have to.

    I have an original droid (obviously) and a few weeks ago, I did a full wipe and installed Chevy's SS5.2 with a low voltage 1.2 gHz kernel. It ran fine and I never had any widget issues, but I had to underclock it down to about 800mHz in order for it to not get hot (and even then it would consistently run in the 40-45C range if I was doing a lot on it). I figured it might run a bit cooler if I installed the 800 mHz kernel and just ran it at full speed. Normally when I would install a new kernel, I would clear cache, clear dalvik, and install the kernel and reboot. For whatever reason, I didn't clear the dalvik this time and installed the kernel. I noticed that my Beautiful widgets clock wasn't updating unless I rotated the screen and basically forced a refresh and it was accurate, but the next minute change didn't update the clock again.

    Things that I've tried:

    - reset ADW launcher from the ADW settings
    - wiped dalvik cache through Chevy Tools
    - rebooted to recovery, wiped cache, wiped dalvik, reinstalled the 800 mHz kernel
    - checked to make sure all the widgets are installed on the phone and not the SD card
    - checked to make sure the widgets weren't located on any of the other home screen programs that came with SS
    - checked to make sure Keep Home in Memory is still clicked
    - temporarily put the BW clock onto the Sony Erikson home app and it updates fine, so it's definitely an ADW thing.

    It's strange that this never happened when I was running the 1.2g kernel. Should I just go back to my nandroid of that and stick with the 1.2 running at 8 or does anyone have any more suggestions for getting it to work with this setup
  2. jimmydene84
    Offline

    jimmydene84 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is weird, u have always ran the LV KERNELS?

    I would wait a little while (unless it bugs u to much) hopefully 5.3 is not far off and a new set of kernels aswell :)

    Sent from my Droid
  3. Chudwick
    Offline

    Chudwick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Acapulco
    I don't honestly know if it'll help but try locking the widget program in memory and see if it updates

    Sent from my Droid
  4. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    set BW to be locked in memory and it didn't fix it (didn't restart though; i'm guessing that shouldn't matter though)

    and since i did the full wipe and install of SS, I've been running chevy's LV 1.2 kernel. Before that I was running CM 6 on slayher LV and then CM 7 on a few different kernels; chevy's ULV gives me constant boot loop, and his LV was loading fine the first time, then bootlooping so I think I was running medium voltage back then. but hadn't had any issues other than a hot phone with SS and LV 1.2
  5. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have auto-sync off? I think this affects the data sent to widgets.

    When i first got the app Tasker, i had it turn auto-sync off for most of the day and i realized BW weather not updating regularly. Since i disabled that profile it appears to be updating fine now, though im not 100% sure.
  6. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup... everything's sync'd and auto-sync'd
  7. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One last thing i can think of, open it up and go to settings. Make sure "refresh on wake" is clicked.

    I never clear anything when i install a new kernel and haven't had problems like this. Not sure what else it would be.
  8. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope... even if I do a manual refresh of the widget, it doesn't update the time. damn ADW. Might just try a different home UI since it seems to work. I liked the look of the sony one, but didn't like the tray. i'll figure something out. thanks for the ideas; I'm sure it's just another one of those random works-on-some-phones-but-not-on-others glitches haha