New here with Droid-X issue

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Dave007, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. Dave007
    Offline

    Dave007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I foolishly checked the always open with box when offered a choice in how to open an email link. I'd like to undo that.

    The normal linux way is to edit ~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list but a droid is a different animal. Also, I'm not rooted.

    Dave
  2. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No clue what you are talking about. What did you click? If you mean setting a default application, whichever application you accidentally selected, go to that App in manage applications and select clear default.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,444
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Welcome to the forum. Glad to have you.
    If you have any questions just ask. As for the always open an email link I'm not sure what your talking about.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. Dave007
    Offline

    Dave007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you touch (click) a link in an email you get a pop-up that asks which application you wish to open the link with (browser, you tube). At the bottom there is a check-box that says something to the effect of "always use this application." Once checked, you no longer get to choose. I'd like the choice back. With Linux you do that by editing the file that I mentioned. I don't know where that is on Froyo2.2 to fix it.
  5. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh. Do what I said in my previous post. Whichever application you accidentally selected, go to that application in the manage applications settings and select clear default. That is how you fix it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  6. Dave007
    Offline

    Dave007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you. Now my question is, how do I add an app to the complete action with pop-up list? Youtube is not listed. The browser choice won't play the video in the link. I used to chose the Youtube app but it is not a Choice now.
  7. Dave007
    Offline

    Dave007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, it pops up a youtube choice when the link is direct to youtube, just not indirect links via facebook. I still wish I knew were it saves mimes like regular linux but the problem I first griped is solved. Thanks again.
  8. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird. Clear defaults for all apps in the equation. If that doesn't work try installing and reinstalling. Android is linux underneath but it is very concealed. Even the terminal app isn't a full terminal.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  9. Elias_Hedberg
    Offline

    Elias_Hedberg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And how to do it if it’s not an application but a widget?

    More specifically I told the Sound Search Widget (included in Jelly Bean) to open found songs in Google Play, which was not a very good idea – but I cannot find any settings to reset for the Sound Search Widget, and wiping the data for Google Play Store doesn’t help.

    How can I revert that selection?

    UPDATE
    I found "Google Play Sound Search" among the apps and clicked "Clear data" (the exact name of the button in English might differ, my system is in Swedish), but tapping the song info on the widget still takes me to Google Play Store – did I misunderstand how to reset the choice of what app to open?
  10. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hello and welcome to the forum! Sounds like you have your issue resolved :)...
  11. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    welcome to the forums look like issue id fixed :biggrin:
  12. Elias_Hedberg
    Offline

    Elias_Hedberg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, not yet. I found the app, but clearing its data didn’t help. It still opens song info in Google Play and I’d prefer it opened them in the Browser.
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Welcome to Droid Forums!!

    I was just messing with the sound search widget (worked pretty well on the songs I tried lol) and it looks like by default it automatically links to the play store. I did not see an option anywhere to link it to the browser.
  14. Elias_Hedberg
    Offline

    Elias_Hedberg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aha, I got one the first time I tried the widget, but not after that. Maybe there is a difference if it comes preloaded with the OS or if you add it later on? (Mine came with the OTA update.)
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Possibly, mine was installed with a custom ROM so it is a possibility. Even when I navigate to the apps I do not see a "Google Sound Search" but I see a "Google Ears" instead. It might just be different apks since we are not running the same thing but check it out just in case.
  16. Elias_Hedberg
    Offline

    Elias_Hedberg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It could still be the same app, I’m using my phone in Swedish and it says "Google Play Ljudsök", I just did a translation of that into English. It might well be that the English name for that app is "Google Ears" (or it might, as you say, be a different apk). In any case there is no "Google Ears" to be found in the app list.
Search tags for this page
android just once always change
,

android undo always open with

,
how do i undo a droid perform this action always
,
how do i undo the complete action always on my droid
,

how to undo always open with android

,
how to undo always use selected program android
,
how to undo something that says always use
,

undo always open android

,

undo always open with android

,
undo always open with this program android
,
undo always use selected program android
,
undo open with option in browser on droid