New Gingerbread keyboard mod

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by doomgazer, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. doomgazer

    doomgazer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've noticed that Fab has the gingerbread keyboard available for download in
    Rom Manager. It looks like something I'd really like to try out, however when I installed it, the keyboard was really "squished". Everything was way smaller than the stock 2.2 keyboard and I had a hard time typing. Had to do a restore.

    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Running an X with Apex v1.
     
  2. blink182zmn

    blink182zmn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might try the lcd density app 240 or 260 density setting

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. doomgazer

    doomgazer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would expect that to just make it even smaller - not a big fan of adjusting the density anyway, but thanks for the suggestion.

    I'm thinking it's probably a file that isn't getting updated or replaced properly. They keyboard is file width wise, but height wise it's probably like 2/3 the size it should be so all the keys are jacked up.

     
  4. blink182zmn

    blink182zmn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im not 100% on it, im using droid 1 so I didn't have any issues fortunately

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. someotherguy

    someotherguy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds Weird but get the lcd changer app. Its free. Set to 300. Reboot. Open the keyboard. Set lcd to 260 reboot open keyboard. Set lcd to 240. Reboot. Now you are at stock lcd density and keyboard looks and works great.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  6. doomgazer

    doomgazer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, you guys were right! That fixed it.

    New keyboard definitely rocks! Speech-to-text doesn't work though. :(

     
  7. doomgazer

    doomgazer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Actually nevermind, it was my damned 3G connection that wasn't working.
     
  8. carosati3

    carosati3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lcd 300

    I can only see LCD upto 280. Is there something I am doing wrong?
     
  9. someotherguy

    someotherguy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lcddensity is the app I've got. It was free.goes to 300

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. carosati3

    carosati3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do u have a problem where the screen stays black after the keyboard goes away? Happens to me after I send a text message.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    where is Fabolous in RM - what section??
     
  12. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Do you have a D1 Husker? I don't think we have the same Rom Manager on the D1 so we can't see stuff for the D2 or the X.
     
  13. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    well, color me stupid then... :redface:
     
  14. DropC

    DropC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thomson, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 3G broke when I used the keyboard too.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  15. doomgazer

    doomgazer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    @carosati3 - No I don't have any problems with the screen going blank after sending messages.

    @DropC - after putting my phone in and out of airplane mode that seemed to fix it. I've rebooted a couple times and played around and haven't had it happen again so it must've just been a first time use thing.


    So far this keyboard has been fantastic. I've found myself much more accurate when typing, especially in portrait mode.
     
Search tags for this page

change android keyboard mod