New FRG22 release of Froyo need PIN security for exchange email. How do I disable it

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tahdor, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. tahdor
    Offline

    tahdor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed FRG22 leak. But that added some security for exchange email. I
    It is very annoying. I have to punch in PIN every time I on my phone. Is there any way to bypass/disable this ? I do not care about remote wipe, let that be there. But can I bay pass this PIN business some how ?
     
  2. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even all FROYO leaks has it as part of remote wipe active sync policies.
     
  3. tahdor
    Offline

    tahdor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It started from FRG22. FEG01B does not have it. Not atleast on my droid. All I want to know, is there any work around ?

    Thanks
     
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I would think if this is true and FRG01B does not have the pin issue maybe you could just roll back. I'm running FRGO1B again, at least the version that's at the front of the page that is rooted. You can download it here. This is the same version only you won't lose your root. Give it a try, Jrummy came up with it.
     
  5. tahdor
    Offline

    tahdor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for suggestion. I did roll back to FRG01B. But I do not want to be stuck on FRG01B for eternity. Well I was just checking if somebody has an antidote. HTC saphire also had this problem, but people got it solved by installing email app from FRG01B. I tried installing GoogleEmail.apk from FRG01B into FRG22 but that didn't help.
     
  6. Burnicus
    Offline

    Burnicus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lame

    So the password policy is being forced by Exchange. The only way that I have found to "fix" it is to remove the password policy from the exchange server itself. This is most likely not going to happen unless your IT dept is very lenient The problem I have now is that the settings have stayed, even after purging my data from exchange and resynching.
    I'm thinking I'm going to wipe the device, but was wondering if anybody knew how to remove the security policy without wiping.
     
  7. violkim
    Offline

    violkim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's very true!

    I've added my work's exchange server for hours and removed it since it always required me to enter pin or password to unlock my screen even if I just want to make a phone call or look at something else! In my case, it was required for both of frg01b(stock, rooted) and frg22.
    I just ended up to TouchDown which is a little bit expensive but worthy.
    TouchDown also required me to enter the pin in the beginning of its setup but I could easily reset it from Phone setting and it asks me to enter the pin only when I entered to TouchDown itself which makes sense.
     
  8. LT*
    Offline

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I would suggest too. My wife has exchange set up on her D2, and it's the same thing, password for every unlock of the phone. It's annoying, and unnecessary. They should have placed the lock on the app only, not the whole phone. Touchdown is the way to go for exchange anyway.
     
  9. badog
    Offline

    badog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lost in Iowa...
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not an exchange issue really. It's the FRG22D. It doesn't understand when the exchange policy is set to not require a pin or password, it defaults to at least 4 characters no matter what the policy is set to, even if the policy is set to password/pin disabled.
     
  10. bigfire
    Offline

    bigfire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a 'feature'. Enterprise institution want you to type in password for EVERY SINGLE UNLOCK.
     
  11. badog
    Offline

    badog Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lost in Iowa...
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heh, I love these kinds of "features" and "enhancements" :)
     
  12. keiichi25
    Offline

    keiichi25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the Security conscious types will want to make sure your device isn't going to be used in a way to violate their privacy policy.

    Remember, the most common security violation is employees accessing information outside the company environment on an unsecured device. Mobile phone/pdas are one of the major security risks next to just simply allowing outside connections through non-SSL based tunneling.
     
  13. delcopa
    Offline

    delcopa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Actually that is not true, I am an Exchange Admin and at home I have two policies one for require PIN and the other not to require PIN. I have about 10 phones connecting to my Exchange server, Blackberry, iPhone, Droid, and HTC's only one that has the require PIN is mine and the iPhones others don't require it and stayed the same after the update. As far as corporate they all require PIN at work no exceptions there.
     
  14. PARick
    Offline

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump. I would love to know if there is a work-around on this! Touchdown has a pin, I don't need another!
     
  15. Fuzzball
    Offline

    Fuzzball Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Would removing/uninstalling these two files resolve this:
    /system/app/DroidEmailPolicy.apk
    /system/app/DroidEmailPolicy.odex

    I've considered modifying the OTA update.zip to have the associated files deleted and removing any entries of those files in the update scripts and seeing what happens. I'll probably end up doing it, seeing what happens, and rolling back if necessary. It might be a few days before I report back though; I prefer to flash things like this when I know my phone can down for an hour.
     
Search tags for this page

disable exchange pin code android

,

disable exchange security pin android

,

disable requirement for pin touchdown

,

how to remove exchange pin security policy from andriod

,

remove pin from touchdown exchange