New droid pro owner

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by tattooz, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all, I am David aka Tattooz. I am new to the forums and am getting my Droid Pro today. I have been reading about the Gingerbread and am very interested in loading it as soon as I get the phone. I am coming from the world of Blackberry hybrids so I am no stranger to modding my phone.

    Is there instructions on how to load the Gingerbread and are there significant enhancements that make it worth the load?

    Thanks for you help
     
  2. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the board Tattooz. As it stands, there are a few ways to get Gingerbread on your Pro. 1) Wait for it to hit your device OTA, 2) Download and install as a zip file and 3) purchase the TBH app and install it that way.

    If you use TBH, it will include root access, the other ways don't so.....

    As far as significant enhancements go, check the enhancements thread for info there. Some features from froyo are missing others have been added. Again, welcome and welcome to Android.
     
  3. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. I have a lot to learn, very different from the Blackberry. I have no idea what you are talking about with TBH and what root access is. Is the Gingerbread and legit update or is it similar to a Blackberry hybrid?
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    The GingerBread update from TeamBlackHat is a "hybrid" I suppose, as it includes root access. If you want to know more about root, there are plenty of threads stickied on this board related to it.

    The other OTA update is from VZW, someone just pulled it off their SDCard before the phone rebooted and applied the update.
     
  5. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible that the Droid Pro I am getting today will already have the Gingerbread installed? How could I tell what OS is installed?
     
  6. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    I guess it's possible, but I would say it's highly unlikely since the update is so recent. You can tell simply by the look of UI, or if you need more concrete information, go to Settings -> About phone and look at the Android version number. If it has the Gingerbread update, it will be 2.3.3. If it's Froyo, it should be 2.2.1.
     
  7. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you install the update and if so, how. I want to do it but am a little unsure of how and the fact that if I brick my phone, I can't restore it. I have bricked my Blackberry many times but there are steps to get it back...
    Thanks
     
  8. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    It depends on how impatient you are to get the update. It should come on it's own after a few days since it's slowly rolling out now to everyone from Verizon. If you can't wait for it to come the natural way, you have two options.

    1) Install the update that another user uploaded after receiving it from Verizon - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-droid-pro/151082-2-3-3-gingerbread-ota-update-zip-file-download.html

    2) Install the rooted version of the update through the Team Black Hat app. This will require you to root your Froyo phone, purchase the Team Black Hat app, and purchase the Droid 2 Bootstrapper. Then you can download the update from the Team Black Hat app and install it - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-droid-pro/150692-gingerbread-plus-root.html

    Even though both processes are fairly simple, from what you said, I would recommend just waiting for the over the air update from Verizon directly. You'll get a pop up on your screen to let you know it's ready.
     
  9. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I think I will wait.
     
  10. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my Droid around 2pm and I LOVE IT. Good bye Blackberry dancedroid
     
  11. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What OS is on it? check settings>about phone for details....
     
  12. tattooz

    tattooz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.2.1

    I REALLY want to root it and install the Gingerbread but I am very confused and a little scared being that if I brick it, I loose it.
    I have been reading and tried the SuperOneClick app but it get's stuck on "waiting for device" and I am not sure what I an doing wrong.

    Any help is appreciated