NEW DROID OTA UPDATE ALERT (still 2.1)

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by wuyanks, May 4, 2010.

  1. bigjohnson

    bigjohnson New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it still says 2.1-update1
     
  2. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    because if you lose root, you are stuck. if you are on sprecovery you probably are all set. 2 people are testing this right now.
     
  3. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does your baseband say? (settings --> about)
     
  4. DeeMat

    DeeMat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    <--- awaits in suspense.
     
  5. bigjohnson

    bigjohnson New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    baseband version c_01.3E.03P
    kernal version 2.6.29-omap1-g7fa8788 android-build@apa26#1
     
  6. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,257
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    I'm going to venture out there and say this will flash a whole new image even if running SPRecovery. We will soon find out.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    My rooted phone says just "android update 2.1 69.6mb requires restart" and a [download] button is below that. I've clicked download and it doesn't do anything on my phone. It was like this prior to this evening too.
     
  8. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    same baseband as the original 2.1... weird
     
  9. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    I am wrapping my Droid in aluminum foil and hiding it under the bed, no way do I want this update

    Sent from my Droid thru Time and Space
     
  10. bigjohnson

    bigjohnson New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im going to try and reflash it back to 2.01 here in a minute
     
  11. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a Thread link with more info for this? Vulcan's rebooted the 2.1 update, wondering how to apply the ota update...hoping it will be in system updates when the phone comes back up
     
  12. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL!!! best post so far...
     
  13. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +220
    It did not give me an OTA for the new one that came out tonight. Not sure what to do with the zip file from Alldroid though
     
  14. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    how you manually apply it? just rename to update.zip and run it from recovery...

    vulcan waiting for the ota to arrive to his phone i presume? nobody knows how long that'll take
     
  15. bigjohnson

    bigjohnson New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    all i did was rename it update.zip and put it on your sdcard
     
Search tags for this page

doid bionic uninstall ota update

,

is there ota android update for incredible 2 on pageplus?

,

mystery alerts