new droid has old software

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by alm0614, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    I just got my Droid today. I got home and noticed that it has the 2.0 software. How can I upgrade to 2.01
     
  2. JessiesGirl

    JessiesGirl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go to Settings>About Phone>System Updates
     
  3. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    i did that and it says your system is up to date?
     
  4. apeshitninja

    apeshitninja Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Give it a day or two, VZW's update system isn't as quick as we'd like. Alternatively, there is a thread around here somewhere about manually updating I believe...
     
  5. JessiesGirl

    JessiesGirl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't even think to ask about the OS when I bought my phone last week. It updated itself before I could even drive home--I didn't have to do anything to initiate it. So yours may just spontaneously update itself as well.
     
  6. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    Alright, ill hope it updates soon
     
  7. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    also all my calls sound reallllly static-y... should i just go exchange it
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1

    Manually update it first, then retry, you have time to play with it before returning.
     
  10. NicoleinVegas

    NicoleinVegas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found turning off the phone, waiting a couple minutes, and turning it back on...can recycle it and updates and other things pop up. Try that?
     
  11. mjs31

    mjs31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just be patient. A coworker brought in his brand new droid that he bought for his son today so I could show him some things. It has the old software and I was about to manually install when the pop up came through saying there was an update. installed without issue.
     
  12. KingDroid

    KingDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A simple powercycle will usually get the update to come down to the phone.Maybe the store can update it for you??