New DI2

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by Slothead, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. Slothead

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Folks,
    I have just swapped my Moto Droid (1) for an Incredible 2. For the time being I'm still using my Droid X (I have two accounts/two phones), but needed a Global-capable phone for some summer trips.

    My primary question is how to replicate the apps I have on the X to the I-2.

    I tried to use Backup Assistant on the D1 and it doesn't seem to be able to use it (at any rate, I have already restored the D1, so it is no longer an option).

    I will be comfortable with duplicating the content of the X to the I-2, but when I use backup assistant on the X it reported that it saved on "64 items." I'm hoping that is apps (although even that seems low), because I have hundreds of contacts that I would have hoped would be backed up. In any case the X is still operable so I should be able to replicate it if there is a way.

    thanks in advance,
     
  2. info4tim

    info4tim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Freehold, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try App2SD from the market

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  3. ryan.lafrancis

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use app2sd and love it. There is a free and a paid version in the market.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. Slothead

    Slothead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK guys, thanks for the tip. Have either of you (or anyone else) tried both the free and paid versions and can comment on whether the paid version is worth the expense?

    Thanks,
     
  5. ryan.lafrancis

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the paid app.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. Thisguy89

    Thisguy89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For backing up contacts, if you select "Google contact" when you create the contact, then all your "Google contacts" will be added to your phone when you add your Google account to the phone.

    That being said, backing them up to SD works perfectly, too.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  7. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I wish some of the apps from Apple store were available on Android. There are a few that i'd have loved to have there here (mainly games).