New Car Home in the Market

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by phunkyjoey, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. phunkyjoey

    phunkyjoey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just noticed that Car Home is now in the Market. Version number is 2.2.1. Not in my car so I havent been able to see what, if anything, is new in this release.

    It is cool to see google releasing all their apps into the market, rather than waiting until the next major android release to send out updates.

    Cheers
     
  2. ladyetrek

    ladyetrek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Car Home Not Showing up in Apps

    So I downloaded this app from the market but it isn't showing up in my apps so I can place it on my home screen. Any ideas? It does show up in activities but nothing downloads from there that I can find...thanks.
     
  3. phunkyjoey

    phunkyjoey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to place your phone in the car mount. Or use magnets to trick it into thinking its in the car mount. It works kind of like the media dock. When its docked, it recognizes it and the app autolaunches.

    Its basically a homescreen that is more driver friendly. It has large buttons for apps used frequently in the car (navigation, bluetooth, etc)
     
  4. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the X, you will either need a car dock with a properly located magnet, or one of the apps that emulates dock mode (I was going to recommend "Dock Simulator", but it apparently has not been updated for Froyo because it is not showing up in the market, and is force closing on my X). The first time you put it in the dock or run the dock emulator app you will get a pop-up asking if you want to run Car Home or Car Dock (the installed default).

    Alan
     
  5. ladyetrek

    ladyetrek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Car Home App

    Thanks! I have a generic car mount but it does not start the app of course. I just ordered the real thing so will be eager to test it out once it arrives!
     
  6. lancelot323

    lancelot323 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Middlesex county, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried installing this yesterday...kept getting a "package not signed correctly" error.

    I'm running sapphire 1.1.1. Any thoughts?

    Sent from my Sapphire'd Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Thread Moved to Droid Applications...please post in the correct forum/sub forum
     
  8. Dragoro

    Dragoro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you search for? I searched for car home and its a bunch of 3rd party apps
     
  9. thenewmalcolm

    thenewmalcolm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I have a droid x and its not showing up
     
  10. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Google has pulled it from the Market currently.
     
  11. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Showing up for me right now. Just installed it. (Droid 1)
     
  12. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Looks like they just put it back up. Was up earlier, pulled and now showing again...
     
  13. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can finally move apps around and add new shortcuts!!! 4 screens total!

    too late now though, i just got car home v2 working great for me.
     
  14. ipawd1

    ipawd1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just removed ALL apps from my homescreen minus this one. And I'm happy. Hey!
     
  15. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It won't install on mine. Keep getting "installation unsuccessful" message. Running SS 4.8 on my Droid 1.