New baseband -- loosing 3g

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by bodean, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. bodean

    bodean Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen A LOT of people on here claiming they are loosing 3g with the new baseband update. I also experience this. Is there a known fix? An updated version of the baseband? Or do we have to flash back to an older baseband?
     
  2. joesaksx

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +2
    I lose it all the time. Its driving me crazy too
     
  3. bodean

    bodean Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in Chicago O'Hare airport for 3 hours today, best I could get was 1G.
     
  4. joesaksx

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm in the middle of Nashville all day and for like half the day I didn't have 3g. I used to have absolutely everywhere
     
  5. Droidfish

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it was the new baseband too but I flashed the stock sbf with rsd lite (for other reasons) and ran my phone the the old basbaband as was still having this issue, I even had dropped call, first ever on my droid and first in years on verizon, I flashed the new baseband again yesterday fyi, and still having the issue
     
  6. joesaksx

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm sitting here on this thread on my phone and lost 3g. Terrible
     
  7. vrdubin6

    vrdubin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm interesting. Obviously I am in the same boat as everyone else... used to get nothing but full bars in 3g while at home. I have been out of 3g multiple times this evening.
     
  8. NeverEndingXsin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe its just me but i seem to have better signal... am i crazy? or is my phone on 3G drugs?
     
  9. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine gets a better signal and less loss of 3G with the new baseband/ESE81-Based ROM

    Quick fix--instead of waiting for hours..Power Button-Airplane Mode On, and then Power Button-Airplane Mode Off.. Works every time for me...
     
  10. pbdroid

    pbdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've noticed that my WiFi tends to compete with 3g. If I lose 3g and I toggle my WiFi off, 3g comes back.
     
  11. doublejack

    doublejack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's a useful tip. In fact, my WiFi is off almost all of the time. I only turn it on when I'm someplace that I know has WiFi and I plan to use it. Otherwise it is just eating away at your battery.
     
  12. fUry327

    fUry327 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this has probably already been said, but if it happened to me, and I have been modding my phones for years...it can certainly help someone here.

    After installing the new basband over UD 9.8 I got the activation screen upon reboot and activated the phone. I didn't think anything of it at the time. After a couple days of using the new baseband I noticed the cell radio was without signal 50% solid all day. During that time I never noticed a decrease in my actual 3g signal strength and never dropped out of 3g. I did definitely notice a decrease in battery strength though.

    The other day my wife was complaining of a dropped call so I told her to dial *228 and hit option 2. And thats when it hit me, I never did that after updating the baseband, I kind of assumed it would be involved with the whole activation thing ya know.

    Since updating option 2 my battery life has returned to normal and I have 12 hours on battery, at 60%, and cell radio has no lost signal.

    Try it if you haven't already.