New baseband -- loosing 3g

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by bodean, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. bodean
    Offline

    bodean Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen A LOT of people on here claiming they are loosing 3g with the new baseband update. I also experience this. Is there a known fix? An updated version of the baseband? Or do we have to flash back to an older baseband?
  2. joesaksx
    Offline

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I lose it all the time. Its driving me crazy too
  3. bodean
    Offline

    bodean Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in Chicago O'Hare airport for 3 hours today, best I could get was 1G.
  4. joesaksx
    Offline

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the middle of Nashville all day and for like half the day I didn't have 3g. I used to have absolutely everywhere
  5. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it was the new baseband too but I flashed the stock sbf with rsd lite (for other reasons) and ran my phone the the old basbaband as was still having this issue, I even had dropped call, first ever on my droid and first in years on verizon, I flashed the new baseband again yesterday fyi, and still having the issue
  6. joesaksx
    Offline

    joesaksx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sitting here on this thread on my phone and lost 3g. Terrible
  7. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm interesting. Obviously I am in the same boat as everyone else... used to get nothing but full bars in 3g while at home. I have been out of 3g multiple times this evening.
  8. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe its just me but i seem to have better signal... am i crazy? or is my phone on 3G drugs?
  9. droidpcguru
    Offline

    droidpcguru Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine gets a better signal and less loss of 3G with the new baseband/ESE81-Based ROM

    Quick fix--instead of waiting for hours..Power Button-Airplane Mode On, and then Power Button-Airplane Mode Off.. Works every time for me...
  10. pbdroid
    Offline

    pbdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed that my WiFi tends to compete with 3g. If I lose 3g and I toggle my WiFi off, 3g comes back.
  11. doublejack
    Offline

    doublejack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's a useful tip. In fact, my WiFi is off almost all of the time. I only turn it on when I'm someplace that I know has WiFi and I plan to use it. Otherwise it is just eating away at your battery.
  12. fUry327
    Offline

    fUry327 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this has probably already been said, but if it happened to me, and I have been modding my phones for years...it can certainly help someone here.

    After installing the new basband over UD 9.8 I got the activation screen upon reboot and activated the phone. I didn't think anything of it at the time. After a couple days of using the new baseband I noticed the cell radio was without signal 50% solid all day. During that time I never noticed a decrease in my actual 3g signal strength and never dropped out of 3g. I did definitely notice a decrease in battery strength though.

    The other day my wife was complaining of a dropped call so I told her to dial *228 and hit option 2. And thats when it hit me, I never did that after updating the baseband, I kind of assumed it would be involved with the whole activation thing ya know.

    Since updating option 2 my battery life has returned to normal and I have 12 hours on battery, at 60%, and cell radio has no lost signal.

    Try it if you haven't already.
  13. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dang, I forgot about option 2, lol. To tell you the truth I had *228'd with option 1.

    It's only been a little bit but my phones showing full 3g signal and hasn't dipped once since! Hope this works for everyone(and continues to work for me) I'll stay posted with an update tonight.

    Thanks fury
  14. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +61
    I did this at work today. Like u said works every time..
  15. VolDroid
    Offline

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man, thanks for pointing this out. I forgot all about that option.