New and Relatively Stupid...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by racerx2222, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello to anyone who reads this. I have a droid x and a mac and, thereby, "mount"ing frustration...hmmm, that wasn't half bad...

    For some reason my droid doesn't appear as a usb drive when I plug it in to my Mac. I'm sure this has been posted, so I'll scour the site. But any answers are welcome. Thanks!

    racerx2222
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Are you going into USB Mass Storage mode when it's plugged in?

    Oh, and :welcome: to the forum! :)
     
  3. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +23
    hmm...welcome to the forum

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
     
  4. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Solved...but

    The problem appears to be that my cable for charging wasn't the right one for usb storage. Now I keep getting messages about my SD card being busy or simply gone, and I have things stored on it.

    Ideas?

    And thanks for the welcome!

    rx2222
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yes, you need to use the Motorola or a Blackberry or other high quality USB cable. Try rebooting the phone and the Mac and trying again with a good cable.
     
  6. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, got the right cable so I can see my droid. Still can't figure out my sd card behavior.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Have you rebooted both?
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,640
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,863
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    :welcome: to the forum. Your in good hands with furbearingmammal. Let us know how it goes.