New and Relatively Stupid...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by racerx2222, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello to anyone who reads this. I have a droid x and a mac and, thereby, "mount"ing frustration...hmmm, that wasn't half bad...

    For some reason my droid doesn't appear as a usb drive when I plug it in to my Mac. I'm sure this has been posted, so I'll scour the site. But any answers are welcome. Thanks!

    racerx2222
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,085
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +416
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Are you going into USB Mass Storage mode when it's plugged in?

    Oh, and :welcome: to the forum! :)
     
  3. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +20
    hmm...welcome to the forum

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
     
  4. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Solved...but

    The problem appears to be that my cable for charging wasn't the right one for usb storage. Now I keep getting messages about my SD card being busy or simply gone, and I have things stored on it.

    Ideas?

    And thanks for the welcome!

    rx2222
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,085
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +416
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yes, you need to use the Motorola or a Blackberry or other high quality USB cable. Try rebooting the phone and the Mac and trying again with a good cable.
     
  6. racerx2222

    racerx2222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, got the right cable so I can see my droid. Still can't figure out my sd card behavior.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,085
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +416
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Have you rebooted both?
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,640
    Likes Received:
    741
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +766
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    :welcome: to the forum. Your in good hands with furbearingmammal. Let us know how it goes.