Never would have believed it - switching kernels

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Canefan, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Canefan

    Canefan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been a BB user since the very beginning and had been enjoying 0.4 since it's release. I had been suffering from many of the same problems that others have been posting about - home screen redraws, slow response for certain apps, slow market etc. There seemed to be a general lagginess at times. I would swipe between homescreens for instance and it would take several tries before the phone responded. Not always, but enough to be annoying.

    Another poster started a thread about one of the P3Droid kernels completely changing the responsiveness of his phone and I decided to give that a try. That ended up being an epic fail as not one of the P3Droid kernels would boot on my phone. I had been running Chevy01s MV 1.0Ghz kernel and as an experiment tried switching to Chevy01's LV 0.8Ghz kernel. The difference is unbelievable. Every problem that I had with the phone is now gone. Every screen pops up instantaneously when I select things. The homescreen redraws (using ADW launcher) are completely gone as well. The phone is much much snappier and runs cooler as well. This echos the result that the other poster had when he downgraded his clock speed as well.

    For those of you having these or other issues, try one of the sub 1.0Ghz kernels. Use whatever you've been running (Chevy01, P3Droid, etc.) and go with the 0.8 version. If you're like me, you may be amazed at the difference. Maybe these phones just don't like going that fast.
     
  2. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, this happens often. the droid is only rated for 600, so overclocking is going over the rated speed. if you go too high youll have problems, too low youll get random reboots. the speed/stability balance ive found is around 125-800.
     
  3. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,967
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Hmmm...I'll give this a shot. 1000 kernel worked well on BB0.3 and earlier for me, but even it seems to lag a bit on BB0.4 and the 1100/1200 seem much better.

    Going to give this a shot, but I suspect the kernel is not the problem or solution (to redraws) just that for whatever reason the lag and redraws are more prevalent/noticeable in some cases. Froyo changed android's memory management and that's what is causing the issue, so I don't see why kernels are going to be the problem, though conceivable some compound the issue more than others.

    Like others, keeping fingers crossed that the final release of Froyo will have addressed this issue.
     
  4. silvere2

    silvere2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Noticed the same thing, ran 1200 for a while, went down to 800 and the phone is overall more responsive.
     
  5. racketier

    racketier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I could edit your title to make it more descriptive. I'm glad I randomly clicked on this thread.

    I'm trying it out now with the bekit 8ghz low voltage kernel. I normally use the 1.0ghz ulv chevy kernel but chevy isn't in rom manager and I'm feeling lazy. (I did make a backup in case bekit doesn't play nice)

    Hope you are right. If I'm having issues I'll try the chevy 8ghz and report back.
     
  6. gan777

    gan777 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting... Has anyone tried just clocking the Kernel down a few slots to see if there is a similar change? Say you have a 1200MHz Kernel and you use SetCPU to slow it down to 800MHz? Or are you saying you would need to completely swap the Kernels?
     
  7. racketier

    racketier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm interested in this as well. I guess I should have tried that first! dancedroid

    UPDATE: I couldn't boot past the motorola screen and my phone just heated up. Guess it doesn't like bekit much...guess I'll go back to chevy 1.0ghz and try setting 800mhz as max in setcpu
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  8. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    i noticed my phone is much faster moving from chevyno1s kernels to p3droid kernel
     
  9. gan777

    gan777 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried clocking my 1200MHz Kernel down and only have slots at 700 or 850, but it does seem much snapier at both speeds, I had terrible redraw on Launcher Pro and it seems to pop up instantly now!

    Thanks for pointing this out!

    BTW, I never had much luck on the Bekit Kernels, always ran much hotter for me...
     
  10. the3dolla

    the3dolla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree as well. On bb 2.1 I used the included 1ghz kernel and it ran well. Lately I've used a 1ghz lv kernel and I've had odd redraws and general slowness. I used setcpu to run it at 900mhz, still bad. Just downgraded to the 800 chevy lv kernel and so far no redraws, just seems to work better.
     
  11. Smeech

    Smeech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fremont, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    I assume the p3 kernals are the only ones compatible with temp monitor 3 that now has CPU temp support (go to MyDroidWorld - Your #1 Android source!) if you don't know what I'm talking about. Anyone try that with a non p3 kernal?
     
  12. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    I was always unsure about this too...hopefully someone can fill us in.
     
  13. Canefan

    Canefan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, all of the Chevy01 kernels are on ROM Manager in the download section. Thats how I changed mine.
     
  14. rlarson_mn

    rlarson_mn Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I am not mistaken Petes v0.4 is already set up to be at 800 and 250 on the low side.
     
  15. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I may actually try the 800 later on, been running the 1000 P3, but consider this, if I'm already down to 800 thru setCPU, then essentially I'm running 800, still get the occasional HS redraw (ADW), so is that still the specific kernal?

    Or are there fundamental code differences between the 1000 and the 800?

    Also, has anyone just tried running the standard voltage vs the LV for the same kernal?

    Hard topic IMO, because each phones CPU is going to react differently, and each phones loadout is also different.
     
Search tags for this page

changing kernels android lag