1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Network Extender

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Chunderboy, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. Chunderboy
    Offline

    Chunderboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Long time reader, first time poster.....

    Anywho, got a new droid x and every once in a while there is an audio notification that says, "Network Extender". HOW DO I MAKE THE VOICES STOP?

    In the phone that is.

    Thanks
    CB
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    lol, good thing you said in the phone. :)

    I don't know, I've got a Droid 2 which is very similar to an X and I've never heard that. Yours is the first post I've seen on this.

    Edit. A network extender is the device that you use to pull in a week signal from Verizon. It plugs into the wall. Why your X is looking for one or thinks it sees it, I have no idea.
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  3. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Do you or don't you have a network extender? I have a NE and the only time I get any audio from it is if I dial #48 Send. Then it says, "You are under network extender coverage" over and over if I am in range of the NE.

    As long as I don't dial #48, but I dial out regular, it will make a short audible beep when first connected to indicate that the call is being made under network extender coverage.
  4. ndhill1976
    Offline

    ndhill1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe a neighbor has one, and you are picking up and losing the signal.
  5. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Same here on NE and have never heard that sound.
  6. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    That would be my guess. If that is the case, the neighbor needs to call Verizon and learn how to designate only their phones as authorized devices for the NE and to exclude other devices.
  7. Chunderboy
    Offline

    Chunderboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aha.... Weird. The thing is, it didn't give me that notification prior to the froyo update and now it does.

    Oh, and thanks for the help peoples.

    One other question actually; is there a way to have my email accounts (I.E gmail and school account) to refresh more frequently than the standard amount of time? For example, my last bb storm2 didn't it instantaneously.

    Thanks again.
  8. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Gmail should be able to set for instant push notification. Your school account should be able to set as low as 5 minutes, but if you want instant, you should forward to your Gmail acct.
  9. Chunderboy
    Offline

    Chunderboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a place that I can see the setting to ensure it is set for instant push notification?

    As for my prior issue, nope, I don't have a network extender.
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    My 2.2. OTA X has Data Push as an option in the stock email app.

    I don't see any way to change the data fetch interval in Gmail, so it must be Push by default.
  11. Chunderboy
    Offline

    Chunderboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fantastic. Thanks again for all of your help.
  12. kunzy
    Offline

    kunzy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For whoever has NE wanted to know how well it works ? looking at purchasing it for my home. i live in a 2300 square foot range with very little verizon signal and wanted to know how well this worked. thanks
  13. kunzy
    Offline

    kunzy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ranch...LOL sorry
Search tags for this page

android network extender icon

,
ehat does it mean when my phone says network extender
,
how to turn off network extender on galaxy s3
,
is my galaxy s3 picking up my neighbors network extender
,
my phone is picking up the neighbors network extender how do
,
my phone says network extender and i dont have one
,
stop network extender on droid
,
verizon network extender for dialup
,
verizon network extender notification
,
verizon phone says network extender
,
what is network extendd notification
,
why does my galaxy s3 say network extender
,

why does my phone say network extender

,
why does my s3 say network extender
,

why does my verizon phone say network extender