Netflix working flawlessly...

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by sranger, May 12, 2011.

  1. sranger
    Offline

    sranger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought I would pass this along. I installed that latest Netflix App that was released today and it works like a charm with SS 5.2.

    It only works with Gingerbread ROMs....

    You can get the app at Droid Life or XDA.....

    Good luck, I have been waiting for this for a long time.....

    Chalk up another good reason to root your phone....
  2. beejaycee
    Offline

    beejaycee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also using it with SS5.2. Only downside is I have to slow the kernel way down due to heat.
  3. AndyMcDroid
    Offline

    AndyMcDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tasker can set your max CPU speed based on which app is in the foreground.
  4. flyinion
    Offline

    flyinion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What speed? I'm currently using the 800Mhz LV kernel and interested in trying the app but wondering what I'd need to set it to.
  5. flyinion
    Offline

    flyinion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok wow, my phone does not like the app at ALL. First try the video stopped playing and I could hear sound continuing to play. Controls would not work at all. Finally the phone rebooted itself starting at the boot animation (not all the way to the Moto M logo). Second try was just flat out black screen with audio, after repeatedly pressing the back button I finally got it to register and then the "do you want to force close" window popped up. Sigh, 5 months till upgrade eligible.


    EDIT: Ok it looks like I somehow sabatoged myself. Before trying it out I added a profile to SetCPU to downclock from 800 to 600Mhz if the CPU got over 50C. I know it's not hitting that, but it seemed to be bogging the app down. As soon as I removed that profile it worked great, and wi-fi even has really good picture quality. I can't see any heat issues yet, after letting it play for a few minutes I jumped out and saw 43C on the SetCPU widget for cpu temp and about 41 when I got into the app itself (widget is set to monitor cpu not battery temp). Since the 3430 processor is rated for at least to 70C I'm not worried anyway, that kind of temp would likely heat the phone up enough for my battery to hit my setCPU battery profile first anyway. If it didn't burn my hand off first lol.
  6. beejaycee
    Offline

    beejaycee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @AndyMcDroid - Thanks, I'll check that out

    @flyinion - I was running max @ 1100Mhz and was seeing CPU temps in the mid-50s. Slowed it down to 550 and temps dropped to the low to mid-40s. Didn't do repeat testing to see if it would happen every time.
  7. Gunslinger
    Offline

    Gunslinger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rutherfordton, NC
    Thanks for the heads-up. After testing for just a few minutes (at work), it seems to work just fine. Firefly and Dr. Who in bed? Don't mind if I do!

    dancedroid
  8. Aenima75
    Offline

    Aenima75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is f***Ing sweet. I also confirm this is working in the D1 on SS5.2 flawlessly. Video quality is decent on 3g not sure of it is better on wifi. Will test to see. Could use an options menu, but what can expect from a leaked apk.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Video quality was definitely better for me on Wifi.

    Sent from my Transformer
  10. flyinion
    Offline

    flyinion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep on wi-fi, or even a good 3G connection I found out, it is able to pull enough bandwidth that the picture looks very very good on the Droid's screen resolution.
  11. etx_droid
    Offline

    etx_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kilgore, TX
    Same here, works great and stream looks AMAZING!
  12. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
  13. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the one that costs 6 bucks? might get this :)
  14. Bang Pow Boom
    Offline

    Bang Pow Boom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here on my D1 w/ ss5.2 and my wife's d1 w/ ss5.2. Flawlessly

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  15. matt2783
    Offline

    matt2783 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't work with Liquid Gingerbread 1.85... Think I'm going to switch ROMs just to get this app working.
  16. Gunslinger
    Offline

    Gunslinger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rutherfordton, NC
    If I could suggest one, try Simply Stunning 5.2. I'm in love with my OG Droid again :)

    dancedroid
  17. jeffm1000
    Offline

    jeffm1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Merrimack, NH
    The one linked in this tread works awesome! The others didn't work.dancedroid
  18. KJW979
    Offline

    KJW979 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western NY
    Works on PE6

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  19. matt2783
    Offline

    matt2783 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Took your advice... ROM seems good so far and netflix app is working perfectly. Quality is impressive over 3g too.
  20. bigeric828
    Offline

    bigeric828 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its the best rom...chevy 5.2's been out for like 2 months now and i havent switched just because nothing comes close to it in my opinion. I hope chevy can release 5.3 soon :D.

    ya Netflix works great, i have tasker to setup to cock my phone down to 125/550 while watching it to save battery/keep from overheating.
Search tags for this page

netflix