neep help recovering my moto droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by viking123, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. viking123
    Offline

    viking123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my droid yesterday and ran cyanogen mod. Everything was fine untill i tried going to newer cyanogen rom. I now have lost my recovy image in my DM Updater. I would like to go back to stock and start over. When I try to go back to stock (non rooted) I get a screen with the triangle and green droid below it and options to:

    -reboot system
    -apply sdcard: update zip
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -install zip from sd card
    -nandroid
    -partitions menu
    -advanced

    I have no idea what to do. please help
  2. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Can you run the DMupdater and select the "back to stock" option? That would get you to the out of the box state your looking for.
  3. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Install adamz's smokedglass 6.0.1 from the nandroid image.

    1. get to the sprecovery menu you just posted
    2. use the adb command to push the nandroid image to /sdcard/nandroid/
    3. select nandroid
    4. select advanced nandroid install
    5. select rom
    6. if you were running a 2.1 based ROM uncheck "Data"
    7. select the option that says to restore
    8. power-button all the way to top menu and select reboot

    E
  4. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    From what I read in the OP he doesn't have SPrecovery. He has the stock recovery system. I don't know if that makes a difference or not. I never messed with the stock one.
  5. pudah
    Offline

    pudah New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    Did you make a nandroid backup? If so go in there and try to recover.
  6. viking123
    Offline

    viking123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ran DMupdate and selected stock and this is where i am. I seemed to have lost my clockworkMod recovery
  7. viking123
    Offline

    viking123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what if I select wipe data/factory reset. I have all my data and apps backed up through a online backup app
  8. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Going back to stock through that method gets rid of clockwork and sprecovery. That's what stock is. Since you hit back to stock, I'm pretty sure you've lost all apps anyway.
  9. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ok, you are back to stock like you wanted in the OP. Is that what you wanted?
  10. viking123
    Offline

    viking123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the stock install failed.
  11. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    ok, but when you opened DMUpdater, did it ask you to update your recovery image, or something along that line? If it did, did you flash it or did you quit?
  12. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,840
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Cyanogen is 2.1 based. Stock is 2.0.1. So is droidmod, which dmupdater was crated for.

    When switching between 2.1 & 2.0.1, you must factory rest and wipe data. It won't hurt either way if you wipe cache partition or not but I recommend it.
  13. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,840
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    If he/she is seeing the triangle (stock recovery) that's where they should be if they want to be at stock. To complete the process, a factory rest/data wipe is in order because of the issue i mentioned above.
  14. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I couldn't understand if that was what clockwork looked like, and I didn't remember stock recovery having all those options. You sure he is stock? I might just be totally off too. :p
  15. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,840
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    My mistake. The options described in the op are NOT stock recovery.

    You may need to run dm updater again to flash recovery, then chose stock again, then wipe data..if you can boot up.

    If you can't, you will need to do a nandroid restore of a working rom.

    After that, run dm and perform the other steps in this post.