Need to root my phone

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by GT_Cleric, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a dx2 and I want to root it but I also want gingerbread. Cuz right now im stock with froyo, do what is the easiest way top achieve this?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  2. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Did You Miss The Stickies? I Just Wrote To Admin About Redundant Threads. Read The Threads Before Starting A New One.
  3. LaCross
    Offline

    LaCross New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im in the same situation. And i dont understand everything thats in the stickies either. some info is also outdated.


    Except im already at 2.3.3
  4. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Those Posts Are Not Outdated, That's The Only Way You're Going To Install Everything Correctly Without Incident.
  5. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Also If You Don't Have The First Clue Do Some Reading And Watch Some YouTube Videos First. When Anyone Comes Running Back Screaming Their Head Off They F'ed Up, I Don't Have Much Sympathy But I'm Willing To Help Get It Back Operational.
  6. LaCross
    Offline

    LaCross New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Trust me. I've been reading for 2 days. My brain is about to explode. I havent rooted a phone since i had my G1 back in '08.
  7. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Good Keep Reading I've Been Absorbing Information Since February 1st Last Year And It Keeps Moving Forward With New Things Every Week/Month. My Suggestion To All New People DON'T Do Anything Until You Are Confident You're Not Gonna Mess Up.
  8. LaCross
    Offline

    LaCross New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are there any bugs with p3droids prerooted Gb?
  9. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    When Asking Questions Please Post Your Question In That Thread, Meaning The Gingerbread Sticky. To Me There Has Been No Bugs Other People Are Complaining About HDMI And The Screen Becoming Unresponsive. Keep Looking Thru The Threads And Another Site For Reading More Threads Is XDA Developers.
  10. LaCross
    Offline

    LaCross New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the screen becomes unresponsive? that doesnt sound too good
  11. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    It Is What It Is I'm Done Posting In This Thread As It Was Already Answered.
  12. Tacomatrd4x402
    Offline

    Tacomatrd4x402 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    I'm new to rooting. Never rooted before. Took me a couple days of researching n finally did it on my dx2. Luckily for uis, there is the ability to sbf. To my understanding, that's what you'll hafta do first off. Its rather quite easy once you do it once.

    Oh and as for the pre root TB...I've had no issues whatsoever on my end. Issues I've had were cause I may have deleted system files that shouldn't have been.

    I do recommend you purchase root explorer and titanium backup pro. Two great apps!
  13. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Way Ahead Of You.
  14. greycobalt
    Offline

    greycobalt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Don't flame my ignorance plz, but what's it looking like for a non pre-rooted GB timeframe?
  15. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I doubt that it will happen. Nothing has happened to rooting the GB OTA for the X and that's been out for awhile. The pre rooted version is easy enough to install though.

    CM74DX
  16. greycobalt
    Offline

    greycobalt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    My only hesitation with the pre-rooted version is any updates they would send out for GB. I'm still only half a year old in smart-phone land, so I don't know how often that is. Would most updates just be inconsequential overall?

    Honestly this all stems from my horrific hatred of setting up my phone and app settings repeatedly after I get them how I like them. :(
  17. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    There Are Programs To Back Up All Data From Your Applications.
  18. greycobalt
    Offline

    greycobalt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    That's what I've heard, but I guess I'm really incompetent because I can't seem to manage it. :(

    Titanium Backup requires root, but last time I tried backing stuff up with that it disappeared anyway. There's not a lot of data I care about saving, or even the apps themselves, just their settings and how I have all my homescreens set up. Re-doing them every time just wears me down.
  19. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Try MyBackup Or MyBackup Root, They Do The Same Thing Except With The Root You Can Save Applications As Apks. It's Close To Titanium But I Use This Over TiBu For Backing Up Data.
  20. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    They don't send updates out that often. About every 6 months at the most is what I have seen with my X. And one of those was a minor one.

    CM74DX
Search tags for this page

root my phone4me